Tomblin announces appointments

CHARLESTON – Gov. Earl Ray Tomblin appointed four members to the Public Water System Supply Study Commission, part of Senate Bill 373 – the Water Resources Protection Act – which was signed into law earlier this year.

The four appointees


– Rick Roberts, P.E., who will serve as a professional engineer experienced in the design and construction of public water systems;

– Ed Watson, who will serve as a hydrologist experienced in determining the flow characteristics of rivers and streams;

– Dr. Mike McCawley, who will serve as an environmental toxicologist or other public health expert familiar with the impact of contaminants on the body; and

– Pam Nixon, who will serve as the citizen


Roberts is a professional engineer and project manager at E.L. Robinson Engineering, a diversified civil engineering and planning firm located in seven offices throughout West Virginia, Ohio and Kentucky.

Watson, hydrologist at Canaan Valley Institute, works on stream restoration and bank stabilization design and construction and is experienced in developing flood model and warning systems for rural, flood-prone communities in West Virginia.

McCawley serves as the Interim Chair of the West Virginia University School of Public Health’s Department of Occupational and Environmental Health Sciences and is considered one of the most engaged West Virginia University scientists in environmental quality and the health of communities in the Mountain State.

Nixon is a retired environmental advocate for the West Virginia Department of Environmental Protection and former chairwoman of the citizens’ group People Concerned About MIC, the predecessor to People Concerned About Chemical Safety.

The governor’s appointees will join the commission’s statutory members and those members appointed by Senate President Jeff Kessler and House Speaker Tim Miley. Statutory Commission members include:

– Randy Huffman, secretary of the Department of Environmental Protection;

– Dr. Letitia Tierney, commissioner of the Bureau for Public Health;

– Jimmy Gianto, director of the Division of Homeland Security and Emergency Management;

– Mike Albert, chairman of the Public Service Commission.