Kessler announces committee chairs for upcoming session

CHARLESTON – Senate President Jeff Kessler (D – Marshall) announced this week the remaining committee chairmen and vice-chairmen for the upcoming legislative session.

Appointed as chairmen are Sens. Ronald Miller (D-Greenbrier) of Agriculture; Greg Tucker (D-Nicholas) of Banking & Insurance; Mike Green (D-Raleigh) of Confirmations; Bob Williams (D-Taylor) of Economic Development; Douglas Facemire (D-Braxton) of Energy, Industry & Mining; Art Kirkendoll (D-Logan) of Enrolled Bills; Truman Chafin (D-Mingo) of Interstate Cooperation; Jack Yost (D-Brooke) of Labor; Erik Wells (D-Kanawha) of Military; William Laird (D-Fayette) of Natural Resources; Evan Jenkins (D-Cabell) of Pensions; and Robert Beach (D-Monongalia) of Transportation & Infrastructure.

Additionally, appointed as vice-chairmen are Sens. Bob Williams (D-Taylor) of Agriculture; Rocky Fitzsimmons (D-Ohio) of Banking & Insurance; Doug Facemire (D-Braxton) of Confirmations; Sam Cann (D-Harrison) of Economic Development; Erik Wells (D-Kanawha) of Education; Art Kirkendoll (D-Logan) Energy, Industry & Mining; Douglas Facemire (D-Braxton) of Finance; Ronald Miller (D-Greenbrier) of Government Organization; Evan Jenkins (D-Cabell) of Health & Human Resources; Greg Tucker (D-Nicholas) of Judiciary; Daniel Hall (D-Wyoming) of Labor; Jack Yost (D-Brooke) of Military; Larry Edgell (D-Wetzel) of Natural Resources; Brooks McCabe (D-Kanawha) of Pensions; and Art Kirkendoll (D-Logan) of Transportation & Infrastructure.

“The team of senators I have appointed will continue working to advance the Senate’s common agenda,” Kessler said.” They have demonstrated their willingness to work together in order to move West Virginia forward.”

The Vice-Chairmen of Enrolled Bills and Interstate Cooperation will be named on a later date.

Sen. Kessler was re-elected senate president on Jan. 9.