Teter CEOS Club installs new officers

The Teter CEOS Club’s Feburary meeting was called to order by President Cathy DeBarr. She thanked the hostess, Jerry Stankus. who was assisted by Millie


Vonnie Hager led the flag salute and introduced Craig Preasar, who taught the lesson for the day, “Irish and Scottish Influences on


Craig, who is of Scottish decent, has played the bag pipes for many years in the West Virginia Highlanders.

He talked about how the Scottish and Irish people settled in West Virginia because it was so much like their homeland with its rolling hills and secluded mountains.

They brought with them their many talents, such as music and musical instruments, their hard work and quilting.

They wanted a better life and they found it in here and the state gained a lot of Scottish and Irish talents.

DeBarr displayed a beautiful Irish quilt called “Single Irish Chain” that she had made for her daughter Beth as a wedding present.

The minutes of the January meeting were approved along with the treasurer’s report. Both were placed on file. Janet Smith gave a report on the yard sale to take place starting at 8 a.m. on April 4 in the Episcopal Church Hall.

The club voted to make donations to the American Cancer Society and to Project Graduation.

The club will form a prayer chain. Janet Smith will take charge of it.

DeBarr announced that the achievement dinner program will took place at 6 p.m. on March 31 at the Way of Holiness Church. The theme will be “A Star Attraction.” Debbie Kittle and Annette Brake will do the poster.

DeBarr announced duties to remember. The Strawberry Festival Committee will meet at 2 p.m. March 4 at the West Virginia Extension Office. The achievement committee will meet at 1 p.m. on the same day.

Justine Woody, the past president, installed the officers for 2014: Cathy DeBarr as president, Janet Smith as vice president, Vonnie Hage as secretary and Iris Mae Swecker as treasurer.

The next meeting will take place at noon March 20 at the home of Justine Woody. DeBarr will have the lesson.

Members present at this meeting included Debarr, Dale Ann Curry, Judy Beer, Annette Brake, Vonnie Hager, Millie Hornbeck, Debbie Kittle, Janet Smith, Jerry Stankus, Iris Mae Swecker and Justine Woody. Curry, Hager and Woody won the door prizes.