Students honored by Barbour BOE

More than 100 recognitions and awards to students and school personnel were presented at Tuesday’s Upshur County Board of Education meeting.

“It was a fantastic participation and crowd,” Upshur County Superintendent of Schools Scott Lampinen said. “It goes to show the support our community has for its children and their academic success. It just shows the prowess of our students. I was really thrilled with the diversity of interest that our students maintained.”

The school board recognized many students on a variety of different academic achievements.

Brittany Vaughn placed second in a state level two-dimensional art show. Golden Horseshoe winners are Andrew Nesselroade, Jesse Skiles and David Gillum. The Governor’s School for Math and Science winner is Nathaniel Friend.

The top five students in the Barbour County Spelling Bee were Eric Wang, Heidi Bryan, Garrett Butler, Logan Bailey and Madison Green. Josh Cragle, Cole Tonkin, Eric Roy and Sean Crites were recognized for achievements in the regional MathCounts competition. First-place winners in the West Virginia Creates competition were Elijah Carpenter, Levi Gay, Nicholas Russell and Nathaniel Russell.

Mikinna Poling, Cole Payne, Justin Poling and Mercedes Dowell composed the Meats Team which placed fifth at the Future Farmers of America Career Development event. Nicholas Russell, Elijah Carpenter, Legend Riffle, Mikenze Poling, Patience Alderman and Bobby Heater were the FFA State Degree recipients. Mikenze Poling also placed fifth in a livestock individual event at the FFA Career Developments event. Mikenze Poling, Elijah Carpenter, Brandy Bachman, Mikinna Poling and Bobby Heater were recognized for their achievements in the FFA state proficiency. Business Plan finalists in the FFA state competition were Elijah Carpenter, Nicholas Russell, Levi Gay, Nathaniel Russell and Mikenze Poling.

The county Young Writer’s competition winners were Zachary Calef-Boring, Brooklyn Herron, Dakota F. Russell and Hannah Eshelman.

County Math Field Day winners were Patrick O’Neill, Bailey Carpenter, Jake Bohman, Madison Green, Caitlyn Wendling, Allison DeBarr, Jayasuriya Senthilvelan, James Sheley, Benjamin Bohman, Ilan Rice, Jenna Marple, Joshua Cragle, Ian Schafsnitz, Nick Page, Kayla Tenney, Rachel Fisher, Damien Rodrique, Dustin Gibson, Shawn Young, Trevor Williams, Catherine O’Hearn, Emily Godwin, Sebastian Reger, Owen Howes, Steven Wilson, Michael Lee and Payton Deynzer.

All-State Band honorees were Shelby Williams and Aaron Nessel Roade. All-State Chorus selections were Gavin Geissler and Desiree Miller. American Mathmatics Competition high score winners were Shawn Young and Payton Deynzer. Patrick O’Hearn won the 2013 National Achievement Scholarship Program.

Distributive Education Clubs of America winners were Mercedes Dowell, Haley Ware, Lauren Cvechko, Emily Godwin, Tiffany Cosner and Stetson West. The state Future Business Leaders of America winners were Delaney Wellman and Dylan Powers.

Pro-Start West Virginia Heat winners were Marlene Ridgway, Sara Morrison, Clefta Tenney and Erica Butler with participation recognitions for Laura Fidler, Steven Lawler, Faith Schafsnitz and Monea Edwards. Future Educator’s Association state competition winners were Tracy Bennett, Courtnie Burnside, Brianna White, Samantha Gregory, Courtney Warner, Emily Neely, Cody Garrett and Taylor Booth.

Recipients of the United States Achievement Academy National Vocational and Technical Education Award were Sarah Liggett, Emily Neely, Olivia Peck, Tracy Bennett, Courtnie Burnside, Shania Cochran, Skylar Fulton, Tristan Runner, Brianna White, Dustyn Walton and Cody Garrett.

Heritage Writing Award winners are Mikenze Poling, Mikinna Poling, Alex Alkire, Chris Goldsmith and Ben Walton.

Students who placed in the SkillsUSA local competition were Dylan Mills, Jeff Davis, Christopher Allen, Austin Linger and Cody Snider. Jeff Davis, Christoper Allen and Austin Linger placed in SkillsUSA state competition.

State Health Occupation Students of America winners were Shelby Carr, Mickayla Cole, Wade Villers, Jason Knicley, Shiana Sanders and Kelly Courtney. Other local HOSA winners were Mickayla Cole, Samantha Proudfoot, Wade Villers, N’shay Bennett, Hope Willhoit, Jason Knicely, Kelly Courtney, Shelby Carr, Kaylee Clifton and Tiffany Rice.