Memorial scholarship winners announced

Winners of the 2013 Mikey Hart Memorial Scholarship have been announced.

Recipients this year are Benjamin Hart and Thairon Holler from Philip Barbour High School; Steven Sponaugle from Parsons; and Danielle Lewis from Preston High School. Funding for the scholarships is provided through the Mikey Hart Memorial Poker Run, which is set to take place on June 8 this year.

Scholarship recipient Ben Hart is a graduating senior this year and is in the Belington Volunteer Fire Department. He is enrolled in an emergency medical training class. He plans to attend Davis & Elkins College this fall in pursuit of a nursing degree.

Holler is a member of the Belington Volunteer Fire Department, the Barbour County and Belington Emergency Medical Services and also is enrolled in an emergency management training class. He plans to major in criminal justice at Fairmont State University in the fall.

Sponaugle graduated in 2012 from Tucker County High School. He attends Davis & Elkins College where he studies nursing. He wants to become a certified registered nurse anesthetist. He is active in the Parsons Volunteer Fire Department and is a member of the Canaan Valley Fire Department.

Lewis is the recipient of the Order of the Rhododendron. She volunteers at the Terra Alta Volunteer Fire Department where her father is a firefighter. She will pursue a degree in computer science this fall at Fairmont State University.

The entry fee for the June 8 run is $10 per player and includes the ride, food, beverages, door prizes and poker hand prizes. Registration is from 10 a.m. to noon at the Belington Volunteer Fire Department. For more information about the poker run or the scholarships, anyone interested can contact Judy Weese at 304-823-2991.