Upshur leaders urged to build swimming pool

A Buckhannon man urged city and county leaders to come together to build a new swimming pool for the community, saying the current facility has outlived its usefulness.

Rick Edwards told the Upshur County Commission Thursday the pool located next to Buckhannon-Upshur High School will not last much longer, and that the repairs are becoming less cost-effective each year.

“Think about the money you have spent fixing the pool (recently),” he said. “You could have paid for about a third of that new pool with the money that was spent on fixing it.”

Commissioner J.C. Raffety agreed, saying the pool has “outlived its capacity by five years.”

The issue came to the forefront this weekend when the swimming pool had to be closed because of a broken pump, which circulated the water through the system’s filters. The necessary part to repair the pool cost about $2,500, County Administrator Megan Pomeroy said, and there were other minor repairs that needed to be made to coincide with the installation of a new pump.

Pomeroy said once the pump is installed, the water must be allowed to circulate through the filtering system, ensuring that it is within the appropriate chemical levels before the pool can be reopened.

Updates on when the pool will be reopening can be found on its Facebook page, Edwards said.

In other matters, the commissioners approved the hiring of Jennifer Dinkelo as an assistant county administrator. She replaces Pomeroy, who was promoted to the lead role with the county commission after the resignation of Willie Parker. Dinkelo will start her duties July 8, and she will have an annual salary of $38,500. That figure could jump to $40,000 after six months, pending a review, Commissioner Donnie Tenney said.

The commissioners also appointed Steve Foster, Robert Skinner and Raffety to the board of the Corridor H Authority. Derek Long was appointed to serve on the Buckhannon-Upshur Airport Authority board, following the resignation of Roy Moss from the group.

The commissioners approved the appointments of Bryson VanNostrand, Jay Martin, Curtis Wilkerson, Tom Shaw, Barry Pritts and Lori Meadows to the Upshur County Development Authority board.