5 candidates file to run for commissioner

Candidates across the region continue to file to run for county offices in the May 13 primary election.

Randolph County

Five people have filed to run for the open Randolph County Commission seat in the May primary.

Chris See, the current president of the Randolph County Commission, a Democrat, filed to run for a second term on Monday. Democrat George M. Riggleman, Jr., of Beverly, also filed last week and will challenge incumbent See for the seat, as will John Andrew Burns, a Democrat from Beverly, James Daniel Dean, a Republican from Beverly, and Lloyd Heckel, a Democrat from Elkins, who all filed this week.

A Democrat and a Republican nominee for the County Commission seat will be decided in the primary, with those two candidates then competing in the November election.

Three board of education seats will be open in the election.

Randolph County Board of Education President Lisa M. Wamsley, of Valley Bend, and current incumbents Ed Tyre, of Elkins, and David Kesling, Jr., of Elkins, have also filed, as has challenger Donna Jean Auvil, of Elkins.

The Board of Education race will be non-partisan, with the three winners decided in the primary election. Each of the three positions for the Board of Education carries a four-year term.

Joe Arley Gum, of Elkins, is set to run for Conservation District Supervisor, a non-partisan race in which the candidates must be landowners and have education or experience in conservation.

Gum is currently the only candidate who has filed for the position.

Margaret Ann Beckwith, a Democrat, from Elkins, Robert Elbon, Sr. a Democrat from Dailey, Gerald A. Simmons, a Democrat from Dailey, Stanley A. Gould, a Democrat from Elkins, Julia R. Stevenson, a Democrat from Elkins, Carol Cain Bush, a Democrat from Elkins, and Frank P. Bush, a Democrat from Elkins, all filed to run for a position on the Randolph County Democratic Executive Committee, the 2nd Congressional District Committee, the 11th Senatorial District Committee and the 43rd Delegate District Committee.

Carolyn Tyre Jackson, a Republican from Elkins, Judith Ann Guye, a Republican from Elkins, Mary Catherine Boltz, a Republican from Beverly, Barbara Tyre, a Republican, from Elkins, and Steven Cook, a Republican from Elkins, are all running for the Randolph County Republican Executive Committee.

Candidates may also file for the Party Executive Committees and the County Executive Committees races. All of these positions carry four-year terms.

Upshur County

Upshur County Prosecuting Attorney Jacob Reger has filed as a candidate for the 26th Judicial Circuit Court judge, unexpired term. Reger, a Republican, lives in Buckhannon.

Three individuals will vie for one seat on the Upshur County Commission, and all are Republican newcomers. Terry Cutright, of Buckhannon, has filed to run for the seat in the 2nd magisterial district that will be vacated when County Commissioner Donnie Tenney’s term expires. Cutright is joined by Lida Kevin Hawkins, of Tallmansville, and Richard Steven Booth, of Buckhannon.

County commission seats carry a six-year term.

Four individuals have filed for three Upshur County Board of Education seats that will become available at the end of the year.

Newcomer Patrick Stephen Martin, of Buckhannon, will vie against incumbent board members Greenbrier David Ralph Almond, of 48 South Kanawha St. in Buckhannon, and Teresa Marshall Bellamy, of 166 Foxmill Drive in Buckhannon, for a board seat in the 1st Magisterial District.

Carl Robert Martin, of 61 Deebalm Drive in Buckhannon, is running for a board seat representing the 2nd Magisterial District.

Each of the three positions on the board of education carries a four-year term.

John Coe Sencindiver has filed to run for conservation district supervisor, which also carries a four-year term.

Tucker County

Two Tucker County residents have filed for an open position on the Tucker County Commission. Incumbent Michael “Mike” Rosenau, a Democrat, from Parsons has filed for re-election. He is being challenged by Republican Patrick E. Darlington, also from Parsons. Both candidates are in the Shaver’s Fork District.

Tucker County Clerk Sherry Simmons said three seats are open for the Tucker County Board of Education – one in the Shavers Fork District, one in the Cheat River District and one in the Blackwater District. Currently, Jerry DiBacco, Jared Parsons and Janet Preston hold those seats. As of Friday, two folks have filed for those seats.

Incumbent Janet Preston, a Democrat from Davis has filed for re-election. Republican Judy B. Fairbanks, of Parsons has also filed to run.

Two folks have filed for Tucker County Republican Executive Committee. Fran Shupp, from Thomas and Bruce Kolsun, from Parsons, both filed Wednesday.

Republicans David Bonner, of Hendricks and Debbie Stevens, of Parsons, are both running for Conservation District Supervisor.

Barbour County

Republican incumbent Tim McDaniel, the current president of the Barbour County Commission, has filed to run for re-election.

Democratic candidate Tamula “Tammy” Stemple of Philippi filed to run for the 47th district House of Delegates position.

Democrats James Morris and Larry Corley have filed to run for seats on the Executive Committee.

Max Grove of Belington has filed for the District 14 Republican State Executive Committee.