Primary candidates filing across area

Candidates have taken to county clerks’ offices across the region this week to file to run for office in the May 13 primary election.

Randolph County

Chris See, the current president of the Randolph County Commission, filed to run for a second term on Monday.

Democrat George M. Riggleman, Jr., of Beverly, also filed Monday and will challenge incumbent See for the seat.

A Democrat and a Republican nominee for the County Commission seat will be decided in the primary, with those two candidates then competing in the November election.

Randolph County Board of Education President Lisa M. Wamsley, of Valley Bend, also filed Monday. Three board of education seats will be open in the election. The Board of Education race will be non-partisan, with the three winners decided in the primary election.

David Kesling, Jr., of Elkins filed on Thursday for re-election to his position on the Randolph County Board of Education. Incumbent Ed Tyre, whose seat is also up in the election, has not yet filed to run for re-election.

Each of the three positions for the Board of Education carries a four-year term.

Joe Arley Gum, of Elkins, is set to run for Conservation District Supervisor, a non-partisan race in which the candidates must be landowners and have education or experience in conservation. Gum is currently the only candidate who has filed for the position.

Margaret Ann Beckwith, a Democrat, from Elkins, filed to run for a position on the Randolph County Democratic Executive Committee, the 2nd Congressional District Committee, the 11th Senatorial District Committee and the 43rd Delegate District Committee.

Carolyn Tyre Jackson, a Republican from Elkins, and Judith Ann Guye, a Republican from Elkins, are running for the Randolph County Republican Executive Committee.

Candidates may also file for the Party Executive Committees and the County Executive Committees races. All of these positions carry four-year terms.

Upshur County

Steve Foster, executive director of the Upshur County Development Authority, has filed to run for state Senate in the 11th Senatorial District. Foster, who lives at 193 Gaston St. in Buckhannon, has filed as a Republican.

Another Upshur County resident, Robert L. Karnes, has also filed as a Republican to run for the same office.

In the fall, one of the two will challenge Sen. Gregory Tucker, D-Nicholas, who has filed to run as an incumbent and also respresents the 11th Senatorial District.

Incumbent Bill Hamilton, R-Upshur, has filed to retain his office as a representative of the 45th District in the House of Delegates.

In the 46th district, incumbent Peggy Donaldson Smith, D-Lewis, has filed to keep her office, but will be challenged in the fall by Buckhannon resident Derek V. Young, who has filed for office as a Republican.

Upshur County Prosecuting Attorney Jacob Reger has filed as a candidate for the 26th Judicial Circuit Court judge. Reger, a Republican, lives at 252 Jarrett Drive in Buckhannon.

Three individuals will vie for one seat on the Upshur County Commission, and all are Republican newcomers. Terry Cutright, of 1688 Teter Road in Buckhannon, has filed to run for the seat in the 2nd magisterial district that will be vacated when County Commissioner Donnie Tenney’s term expires. Cutright is joined by Lida Kevin Hawkins, of 7920 Tallmansville Road in Tallmansville, and Richard Steven Booth, of 1068 Old Elkins Road in Buckhannon.

No one has filed for the three Upshur County Board of Education seats that will become available at the end of the year, a spokeswoman with the Upshur County Clerk’s Office said Friday.

Tucker County

Tucker County Clerk Sherry Simmons said as of Friday, the only candidates filing in the county are for Tucker County Commission.

“Incumbent Mike Rosenau, a Democrat, will be challenged by Patrick Darlington, a Republican,” Simmons said. “The seat is open for those in the Shavers Fork District.”

Simmons said three seats are open for the Tucker County Board of Education – one in the Shavers Fork District, one in the Cheat River District and one in the Blackwater District. She said so far, no one has filed to run for any of these seats. Currently, Jerry DiBacco, Jared Parsons and Janet Preston hold those seats.

Barbour County

Republican incumbent Tim McDaniel, the current president of the Barbour County Commission, has filed to run for re-election.

Democratic candidate Tamula “Tammy” Stemple of Philippi filed to run for the 47th district House of Delegates position.

Democrats James Morris and Larry Corley have filed to run for seats on the Executive Committee.