D&E honors students, staff

ELKINS – Davis & Elkins College honored students and staff Thursday at its annual Academic Awards and Recognition Convocation.

Among the awards was the prestigious 2014 Lois Latham Award for Teaching Excellence. presented to Associate Professor of Business Administration Harry Henderson at the ceremony.

In addition, scores of students were recognized for academic achievements and service to D&E during the ceremony in Myles Center for the Arts Harper-McNeeley Auditorium.

The Lois Latham Award is presented annually to an outstanding D&E educator who is characterized by a distinguished intellectual career; enthusiasm for scholarship and intellectual curiosity; and, most importantly, by evidence that it is their professional calling to nurture the intellectual and personal growth of others. Nominations for the award are submitted by faculty, staff and students.

This year’s award was presented by June B. Myles, chair of the D&E Board of Trustees.

Henderson has been a member of the D&E faculty for more than 20 years. A veteran of the U.S. Navy, he spent 26 years as an active duty surface warfare officer commanding three U.S. Navy ships, and served in a variety of high level staff positions including Joint NATO/Commands. During his military career, he also worked in education-related positions, serving as associate dean for the senior course instruction at Armed Forces Staff College in Norfolk, Va., and in the Navy’s human resource management office developing curriculum and teaching courses.

He earned his Ed.S. degree from George Washington University, a Master of Business Administration from Golden Gate University in San Francisco, Calif., and a Bachelor of Science degree in electrical engineering from the U.S. Naval Academy.

“I am honored to receive this award,” Henderson said. “I am happy to be a part of a tremendous faculty that is caring and hard-working.”

During the presentation of the award, Myles read comments from individuals who had nominated Henderson.

“It sounded like they came from my students,” Henderson said. “That’s the best part, hearing what they have to say. It’s humbling.”

The Academic Awards and Recognition Convocation also recognized students’ academic achievement in each department as well as leadership on campus.

The top student honor, the Dean’s Award, was presented to Sydney Mucha, a senior from Mount Clare. The annual honor, awarded to a senior selected by the Office of Academic Affairs, was given by Vice President for Academic Affairs Dr. Joseph Roidt.

Selected for the Junior Marshal Awards were Guilherme Hubsch, a junior from Indaiatuba, Brazil, and Jessica Williams, a junior from Shenandoah Junction

The Faculty Senior Award was given to Conner Berkey, a senior from Brandy Station, Va.

“I want to say congratulations to all of today’s award recipients,” Roidt said. “Our mission is to prepare students for success and I think that this ceremony is an opportunity to hold these students up as exemplars to inspire other students.”

“We try to reward students for their achievements and for excelling at their passions,” D&E President Michael P. Mihalyo Jr. said. “I want to congratulate them for their accomplishments and thank them for supporting the life and mission of the institution.”

Departmental Achievement Awards presented during the ceremony were:

Biology and Environmental Science Department: Trisha B. Higgins, a junior from Mannington; Kaitlin O. McDade, a senior from Oakland, Md.; Phylicia L. Hudok, a senior from Huttonsville; Zachary J. Schmucker, a senior from Latrobe, Pa.; and The Robert E. Urban Memorial Award, Nicole L. Wyatt, a senior from Elkins.

Business and Entrepreneurship Department: Chelsea L. Close, a senior from Beverly; Joshua S. McGlothlin, a senior from Rowe, Va.; Franklin D. Cottrill, a senior from Parkersburg; Paige W. McNeil, a senior from Belington; Mia R. Gresak, a junior from Mount Clare; Michael R. Paratore, a senior from Webster, N.Y.; Guilherme C. Hubsch, a junior from Indaiatuba, Brazil; Callie A. Updike, a senior from Stuarts Draft, Va.; and Ethan W. White, a senior from Buckhannon.

Chemistry Department, Phylicia L. Hudok, a senior from Huttonsville; and Ethan Roy, a senior from Harman. The Dr. Charles E. Albert Memorial Prize in Chemistry, Meredith D. Hill, a senior from Bridgeport; The CRC Press Achievement Award in Chemistry, Mark Cordle, a freshman from Oak Hill; The 2014 POLYED Undergraduate Award in Organic Chemistry, Rhys L. Begley, a sophomore from Remington, Va.; and The 2014 Hypercube Award, Ethan Roy, a senior from Harman.

Education Department, Jocie R. Bolyard, a senior from Rowlesburg; Ashley A. Dove, a junior from Mathias; Elizabeth A. Chaar, a junior from Charleston; and Amanda L. Eriksen, a senior from Lititz, Pa.

English, Communication & Foreign Language and Religion & Philosophy Department, Loran A. Davis, a junior from Salem; Emily A. Prentice, a senior from Elkins; Alexandria M. White, a junior from New Castle, Va.; and Robin Stillwater, a senior from Bowerston, Ohio.

Fine & Performing Arts Department, Conner Berkey, a senior from Brandy Station, Va.; Ashlen M. Wilson, a senior from Elkins; Dayna M. Cooper, a sophomore from Parkersburg, and The Pendleton Prize in Theatre, Ashley Collins, a junior from Independence.

History Department, Olivia P. Grimes, a senior from Marlinton; and Jonathan M. McNemar, a sophomore from Elkins; and The James H. Swanton Prize in History, Joshua M. Squires, a senior from Ridgeley.

Mathematics, Computer Science & Physics Department, Bradley T. Banzhoff, a senior from Hagerstown, Md.; Guilherme C. Hubsch, a junior from Indaiatuba, Brazil; Zachary R. Hanshaw, a senior from Chloe; and Jacob W. Lancaster, a senior from Kerens.

Nursing Department, first year, Lindsey S. Barlow, a sophomore from Marlinton; Shelby L. Carr, freshman from Buckhannon; Mary Gibbons, a sophomore from Elkins; and Benjamin H. Hart, sophomore from Belington; second year, Jessica A. Ashley, junior from Weston; Rene G. Denise, a junior from Montrose; and Ashley L. Sjoman, junior from East Northport, N.Y.

Psychology & Human Services, Sociology, Criminology and Political Science Department, Rhiana A. Bruce-Lyle, a junior from Kingstown, Saint Vincent and the Grenadines; Kara L. Parrack, a junior from Beverly; Alison Bogar, a senior from Ontario, Canada; Ashley Muscat, a sophomore from Saint George, Canada; Rueben J. Kerns, a junior from Junior; and Marisa L. Morris, a sophomore from Huntingtown, Md.; The Dorothy F. Roberts Achievement Award, Joshua M. Squires, a senior from Ridgeley.

Sport Science Department, Julia K. Hoehn, a junior from Thurnau, Germany; Hanna F. Lane, a junior from Honaker, Va.; Declan McGill, a senior from Leeds, England; Amanda Serafini, a senior from Blasdell, N.Y.; and The Minnick-McCoy Award, Alanna Jones, a senior from Valley Home, Calif.

Special Achievement Awards presented were: Jan P. Chadwick Scholarship, Lisa Simmons, a sophomore from Elkins; Charles H. Potter II Scholarship, Agustin Ochoa, a December graduate from Medellin, Colombia; Campus Impact Awards, Phi Beta Lambda for Beta Bean Cafe; Outstanding Junior Student Life Award, Rhiana A. Bruce-Lyle, a junior from Kingstown, Saint Vincent and the Grenadines, and Guilherme Hubsch, a junior from Indaiatuba, Brazil; Outstanding Senior Student Life Award, Endi Frazier, a senior from Williamsburg, Va., and Conner Berkey, a senior from Brandy Station, Va.; Campus Spirit Award, Squirrel Squad; and Algernon Sydney Sullivan Awards, Robin Stillwater, a senior from Bowerston, Ohio, and Tim Fantry, a senior from Towson, Md.

Groups recognized during the ceremony were dean’s list scholars for the fall 2013 semester, inductees to Who’s Who in American Universities and Colleges and members of honorary fraternities.

The awards ceremony was followed by the annual Honors Luncheon in The Joni and Buck Smith Arts Forum in Myles Center for the Arts.