Barbour incumbent gets nod

PHILIPPI – Incumbent Barbour County Commissioner Tim McDaniel won the Republican nomination in Tuesday’s primary election, and will face Democrat Adam Marsh in November.

“It’s a relief to have the primary election over with,” McDaniel said Tuesday at the Barbour County Courthouse. “I didn’t know which way it would go with three candidates on the Republican ticket. … I’ll have to thank the community for their continued support and I do appreciate it.”

McDaniel totaled 608 votes, while fellow Republicans Jim Kines Jr. earned 339 votes and Judy Gain garnered 151 votes. Adam Marsh was the only Democratic candidate, totaling 940 votes.

In the race for the Barbour County Board of Education, incumbent Joanne McConnell earned 1,770 votes, allowing her to keep her seat for the North District.

“I’m happy to be able to serve Barbour County four more years as a Board of Education member,” McConnell said. “As always, I put kids, families and communities first.”

Two current BOE members, Doward Matlick and Bob Wilkins, did not seek reelection, leaving two seats open. A total of 583 votes were cast among three write-in candidates, Reggie Trefethen and Jeff Davis for the West District and Dave Everson for the South District. The tally of votes among each will be counted and totaled at a later date, officials said Tuesday evening.

In Barbour County, Democrat Natalie Tennant received 800 votes in the U.S. Senate race, followed by Dennis Melton with 218 votes and David B. Wamsley with 75 votes.

On the Republican side, U.S. Senate candidate Shelley Moore Capito received 962 votes, followed by Matthew Dodrill with 68 and Larry Eugene Butcher with 64.

Democrat Glen B. Gainer III totaled 903 votes for the U.S. House of Representatives First Congressional District seat. Republican incumbent David B. McKinley garnered 916 votes.

Robert “Bee Bob” Wolfe ran unopposed for Conservation District Supervisor and won with 1,770 votes.

For the South District Barbour County Republican Executive Committee males, Max Grove received 207 total votes. For the West District, John J. Heiss received 188 votes.

In the female race for the Barbour County Republican Executive Committee, Jo Grove totaled 222 votes for the South District.

For the State Republican Executive Committee of the 14th Senatorial District, Grove received 719 votes and Scott A. Dewitt received 375 votes.

Grove received 684 votes for the 47th District Senatorial District Executive Committee.

For the 47th Delegate District of the Republican Executive Committee, Grove received 646 votes. He also received 699 votes in the first Congressional District of the Congressional District Republican Executive Committee.

For the West District county-wide Democratic Executive Committee, females, Stemple received 224 votes. Democrat Sharon Corley received 254 votes. For the South District, Lynne Snyder received 246 votes. For the North District, Eloise W. Hollen received 241 votes and Joyce Wilson received 269 votes. For the North District males, Mark L. Hollen received 303 votes. For the West District males, Larry Corley received 296 votes.

For the female State Democratic Executive Committee, the 14th Senatorial District, Carye L. Blaney received 525 votes, Cynthia Corwin Walters garnered 293 votes and Rita McCrombie totaled 444 votes.

For the male State Democratic Executive Committee, the 14th Senatorial District, Jeremy B. Cooper received 455 votes and J.M. “Mike” Withers received 783.