Barbour BOE officers selected

PHILIPPI – New Barbour County Board of Education officers and committee members were selected Monday during the first meeting of the new fiscal year.

Member Eric Ruf was elected to serve as the president of the BOE. Ruf was nominated by new BOE member Dave Everson. No others were nominated prior to voting.

“I didn’t have any expectations of this tonight,” Ruf said about his nomination for presidency, “but thank you. I’ll certainly do my best.”

In the absence of Superintendent Dr. Joe Super, Assistant Superintendent Jeff Kittle filled in to oversee the meeting.

After being unanimously selected as president – he abstained from the 4-0 vote – Ruf took the reigns of the meeting to begin the process of electing a vice president and committee members to serve on various boards.

BOE Member Reggie Trefethen nominated Joanne McConnell to serve as the vice president. No others were nominated. McConnell abstained from the vote, which was 4-0. McConnell thanked the board for nominating and selecting her.

Ruf was appointed to the RESA VII Advisory Council. McConnell was appointed to the West Virginia University Extension office. Trefethen was appointed to the Five-year Plan Committee and the Barbour County Safety Committee. Everson was appointed to the CTE Advisory Council. Member Dana Stemple was appointed to the Fred Eberle Administrative Council.