Belington mayor calls for recount

BELINGTON — The incumbent mayor of Belington has requested a recount in the Belington municipal election.

Mayor Matthew Ryan picked up one vote during the canvassing that took place on Monday, and now stands with 123 votes, two behind the challenger, Jean Clark, with 125.

Ryan has called for the recount and has paid the required $300 bond, a representative at Belington City Hall said Thursday afternoon.

The recount will take place at 5:30 p.m. Wednesday at Belington City Hall.

The mayoral position is a two-year term. The municipal election took place March 5.

In the Belington City Council races, First Ward incumbent Charles Alth won re-election with 43 votes over challenger Scott Kittle.

In Second Ward, two seats were up for election. The two-year term was won by incumbent Dylan Cota with 11 votes, while the four-year term was won by incumbent Craig Bolton with 29 votes.

Third Ward incumbent Suzanna Skidmore won re-election with 24 votes, while challengers Dana Booth had 17 votes and Bobby King earned 9 votes.

In Fourth Ward, Sherry Sturm took the victory with 43 votes, while Doug Cutlip had 22 votes and Katie Wolpert tallied 14 votes.