Sign In | Create an Account | Welcome, . My Account | Logout | Subscribe | Submit News | Contact Us | Home RSS

All-State soccer teams announced for Class AAA

November 30, 2010
Staff Reports

The 2010 Class AAA All-State soccer teams were released on Monday with Buckhannon-Upshur's Jessica Hardman receiving the biggest honor of the area by being selected to the first team.

Hardman, a senior defender, was joined by teammate Emily Godwin, a sophomore midfielder, who was selected to the second team.

The Lady Bucs' Lauren Cvechko was a special honorable mention selection, along side Elkins High School's Maggie Fry, a junior midfielder who led the Lady Tigers in scoring this season.

Article Photos

HONORED?— Buckhannon-Upshur’s Jessica Hardman was named to the Class AAA?All-State first team on Monday. (The Inter-Mountain/File Photo)

Buckhannon-Upshur's Jessica Feronti rounds out the list of area all-staters by being selected to the honorable mention squad.

University senior midfielder Ashley Ramsey was named captain and Class AAA Player of the Year after scoring 29 goals on the season.

University, which finished 23-1 and captured a second consecutive Class AAA championship, had three more players on the first team as Kaylynn Petresin, Autumn Lockwood and Hillary DeWitt joined Ramsey on the unit.

Cabell Midland's Sami Molina, Woodrow Wilson's Kayla Rodriguez, George Washington's Lucky Lucente and Ellen Sears, Jefferson's Kelsea Barnholt, Parkersburg's Tori Wilson, Winfield's Haleigh Hoff, Parkersburg South's Kari Simon, Huntington's Kelsie Burns, Katie Burgess and Braddick Price, Spring Valley's Jenna Dorsey and Parkersburg South's Mary Lewis round out the first-team selections.

Two Elkins booters headline the list of area boys players honored as Andrew Roidt and Ky Reams were selected to the special honorable mention team.

Roidt, a senior midfielder, and Reams, a senior goalie, helped lead the Tigers to a 4-12-4 record in 2010.

The Tigers' Nick Jones and Buckhannon-Upshur's Adam Brumley were named to the special honorable mention team.

Wheeling Park's Josh Henderson was named the captain of the team after scoring 37 goals this season.

Henderson's teammates Errin Baynes and Cody Winiesdorffer joined him on the first team.

State champions Woodrow Wilson had three players make the list as Ben Stafford, Travis Cole and Logan Powell were first-team selections.

Washington's Tanner Robison and Cole Cloonan, Hurricane's Trevor Starcher and Wes McWatters, Bridgeport's Pat Kelly, Parkersburg's Brian Runyon and Harlan Gibson, St. Albans' Caleb Bone, Huntington's Bill Jones, George Washington's Carter Phillips, Robert C Byrd's Blake Kiger and Preston's Cody Thompson round out the first-team selections.



I am looking for:
News, Blogs & Events Web