Sign In | Create an Account | Welcome, . My Account | Logout | Subscribe | Submit News | Contact Us | Home RSS

PROMISE Scholars recognized

June 15, 2012
The Inter-Mountain

West Virginia Wesleyan College is pleased to announce the academic achievements of this year's PROMISE Scholars who plan to attend the college.

Ninety-five students from all over the state will earn tuition and fees up to $4,750 at approved two-year and four-year colleges and universities in West Virginia.

This year marks the 10th anniversary of the program, which was launched in 2002 under the leadership of former Gov. Bob Wise, former state Sen. Lloyd Jackson II and Gov. Earl Ray Tomblin, who previously served as Senate president. Since the program's creation, more than 32,000 students have been awarded the scholarship, and more than $315 million has been provided to help West Virginians attend college.

Tomblin said those funds represent a valuable investment in our state.

"Ten years ago, West Virginia made a promise to its young people: if you work hard, earn good grades and fully commit to pursuing a college education in our state, we will help you pay for a college education. That promise is paying off today for students and their families - but more important for our state. Research shows that receiving the PROMISE Scholarship helps ensure that our students graduate from college, because the program requires students to maintain a high grade point average and take a rigorous course load," Tomblin said. "Additionally, more than 60 percent of PROMISE Scholars work in state after graduation. To meet work force demands and grow our economy, West Virginia needs additional qualified college graduates. The PROMISE Scholarship is a valuable tool in helping keep young, bright West Virginians active in our local communities and across our great state."

To receive the PROMISE Scholarship, students must obtain a grade point average of 3.0 or higher, an overall ACT score of 22 and a score of at least 20 in each of four ACT subject areas.

The following students were awarded the PROMISE Scholarship this year:

Megann Boone, Braxton County High School; Ryan Echard, Rebekah Honce, Sarah Potter and Courtney Small, Bridgeport High School; Kristen Cosner, Angelica Harvey, Diana Kimble, Alex Pugh, Jordan Shaver, Scott Stoeckle and Kesley Wagoner, Buckhannon-Upshur High School; Lucreshia Hescht, Buffalo High School; Kaitlyn Slack-Hanna, Cabell-Midland High School; Emily Blake, Charleston Catholic High School; Benjamin Marshall, Clarke County High School; Evan Gorman, East Fairmont High School; Brennan Dettinger, Joseph Hochgesang and Catherine Riggleman, Elkins High School; Abigail McClung, Fairmont Senior High School; Destinee Young, Frankfort High School; Nicole Deitz and Ryan Pullin, George Washington High School; Kirsten Reneau, Grafton High School; Jeremy Feury, Greenbrier East High School; Aaron Bugby, Greenbrier West High School; Rebekah Lewis, Hampshire High School; Amelia Riley, Hedgesville High School; Abigail Hensley, Huntington High School; Kayla Hinkley, Andrea Shepherd and Mark Stewart, Hurricane High School; Dustin Pence and Nancy Perrine, James Monroe High School; Garrett Grantham, Jefferson High School; Megan Garcia, John Marshall High School; Jared Ballard, Emmalee Stewart and Catherine Ullom, Lewis County High School; Shawna Clayton, Liberty High School; Dillon Williams, The Linsly School; Destinie Hubbard and Erin Hudnall, Midland Trail High School; Langley Salyers, Moorefield High School; Eric Harshbarger and Katherine Vecchio, Morgantown High School; Cierra Minter and Telena Sanson, Nicholas County High School; Jordan Tate, Nitro High School; Ashleigh Marker, Parkersburg South High School; Sophia Bennett and Matthew Phares, Pendleton County High School; Grant Basagic, Felicia Goldizen and Corey Rhodes, Petersburg High School; Kayla Cunningham and Jackson Tyler, Poca High School; Chloe Bland, Pocahontas County High School; Emily Jenkins, Kimberlyn Ramsey and Rex Rosenberger, Preston High School; Nathan Burchett, Charles Day, Hannah Gurtis, Jeremy Lawrence and Kurt Schindler, Ravenswood High School; Joshua Metz, Ritchie County High School; Seth Boggs, Riverside High School; Elaine Ashman, Roane County High School; Camille Fenz and Brandon Kroll, Robert C. Byrd High School; Alexander Moss, St. Albans High School; Alison Johnson, Asa Nichols, St. Mary's High School; Holden Akers-Toler, Shady Spring High School; Sarah Phillips, Shady Spring High School; Stephanie Frazer and Erika Langford, South Harrison High School; Ashley Perdue, South Charleston High School; Taylor Stacy and Amber Stewart, Spring Valley High School; Mikaela Hutchinson, Teays Valley Christian; Sarah Campbell, Tyler Consolidated High School; Hillary DeWitt, University High School; Robert Brosh, Cody O'Meara and Angela Pittinger, Washington High School; Chelsea Rule, Webster County High School; Yvonne Burch, Wheeling Park High School; Bethany Jordan and James Young, Winfield High School; Joshua Andrews, Sarah Rogers and Jordon Turley, home school.

More information about the PROMISE Scholarship and other state financial aid programs can be found through the College Foundation of West Virginia, the state's free college planning website at



I am looking for:
News, Blogs & Events Web