Sign In | Create an Account | Welcome, . My Account | Logout | Subscribe | Submit News | Contact Us | Home RSS

Local leader appointed to statewide commission

September 14, 2012
The Inter-Mountain

Randolph County Commission President Mike Taylor has been appointed to West Virginia Gov. Earl Ray Tomblin's Blue Ribbon Commission on Highways, representing the West Virginia County Commission Association.

"One of my main focuses will be the completion of Corridor H and the maintenance and upgrades of our current highway system," Taylor said this week. "The challenge is coming up with a long term plan and how the state will fund it."

Tomblin announced the commission in a news release this week, and the group will have its first meeting at 10 a.m. today in Charleston.

Article Photos


"I've called together some of the brightest minds in transportation, construction, labor and business to address the needs of our aging highway system," Tomblin said in the release. "I look forward to working with the Blue Ribbon Commission, discussing their findings and reviewing their proposed legislation, so that we can together address the future of our transportation system."

Tomblin issued an executive order on Aug. 14, forming the West Virginia Blue Ribbon Commission. The group is tasked with studying the condition and needs of the state's transportation system and developing a long-term strategic plan of action.

The plan will include funding options for the maintenance, construction and expansion of the state's roadway system.

In addition to Taylor, the West Virginia Blue Ribbon Commission on Highways members include Sens. Bob Beach, Bob Plymale and Mike Hall; Delegates Margaret Staggers, Josh Stowers and Ron Walters; West Virginia Department of Transportation Secretary Paul Mattox; West Virginia Department of Commerce Secretary Keith Burdette; West Virginia Association of Counties representative Commissioner Rick Handley, Mason County; West Virginia Municipal League representative St. Albans Mayor Richard Callaway; West Virginians for Better Transportation representative Joseph T. Deneault; Contractors Association of West Virginia member Robert O. Orders Jr.; West Virginia Chamber of Commerce representative Brenda Nichols Harper; West Virginia Business & Industry Council Jan Vineyard; Karen Price with the West Virginia Manufacturers Association; Kenny Perdue, with West Virginia AFL-CIO; Gary Tillis with Affiliated Construction Trades Foundation; Gary Facemyer, with American Council of Engineering Companies of West Virginia; Fred C. Burns Jr. with West Virginia Trucking Association; Carol Fulks with the West Virginia Hospitality and Travel Association; Professors Tom Witt and Andrew Nichols, with the academic community; and citizen members David Satterfield of Morgantown, Mark Baldwin of Martinsburg and Wally Thornhill of Chapmanville.



I am looking for:
News, Blogs & Events Web