Sign In | Create an Account | Welcome, . My Account | Logout | Subscribe | Submit News | Contact Us | Home RSS

Lineup announced for today’s MSFF parade

October 6, 2012
The Inter-Mountain

The lineup for the 76th Mountain State Forest Festival Grand Feature Parade has been announced.

The annual extravaganza, sponsored by Polino Contracting Inc., will begin at 1:30 p.m. today.

MSFF Director General Mike Karlen has chosen the Randolph County Teacher of the Year winner and nominees as this year's parade marshals.

Article Photos

The Inter-Mountain photo by Angie Pritt
The 76th Mountain State Forest Festival royal jesters use an array of props to help entertain the crowd during the coronation ceremony Friday. Performances from the jesters can also be seen along the parade route today during the grand feature parade.

Karlen said he and a number of his assistants hold fond memories of influential teachers from their childhood. They appreciate the sacrifice that comes along with the commitment of teaching our youth and often share stories of their experiences during festival events such as school visits.

"What better way to honor some of our most cherished community members than having our Teacher of the Year and the nominees serve as our parade marshals?" Karlen said.

After learning of his selection, Teacher of the Year Brandon Riffle said he was honored and humbled to serve as parade marshal.

In addition to Riffle, Teacher of the Year nominees accepting parade marshal honors include Melissa Carr, April Chenoweth, Julie Corley, Mollie Ferguson, Patty Gow and Shannon Snodgrass.

Karlen said he hopes when residents watch the parade marshals pass by that they also will be reminded of the special teachers who have served Randolph County over the years.

The MSFF has been honoring local heroes in recent years with local military from the 201st FA/326 QM Co. serving as parade marshals in 2011 and Jack Basil taking the reigns in 2010.

The Antique and Classic Street Rod Car and Special Units and Log Truck parades will march down Davis Avenue to the Courthouse on Randolph Avenue at 1 p.m., with the Grand Feature Parade following at 1:30 p.m.

Honor Division

Division I

Division II

Division III

Division IV

**Special thanks to Elkins Explosion Fast Pitch Softball and EMS Girls Soccer for carrying the banner



I am looking for:
News, Blogs & Events Web