Sign In | Create an Account | Welcome, . My Account | Logout | Subscribe | Submit News | Contact Us | Home RSS

Elkins City Council calls for 2013 election

Several council spots, mayor’s seat to be on ballot

October 19, 2012
By Anthony Gaynor - Staff Writer ( , The Inter-Mountain

Elkins City Council made the call for the 2013 municipal election during Thursday's regular council meeting. The election is slated for March 5 and several council positions as well as the mayor's seat will be on the ballot.

Elkins City Clerk Sutton Stokes prepared the motion for council and it was unanimously passed, but later in the meeting the motion had to be amended to correct a mistake. Councilman Carman Metheny, 3rd Ward, made the motion and 4th Ward Councilwoman Marylinn Cuonzo seconded the motion.

The original motion called for a mayor to be elected to a two-year term and a council member from each ward to be elected to a four-year term.

Article Photos


The motion had be changed because Councilman Joe Sabatino was appointed to council earlier this year to fill the unexpired term vacated by Danny Satterfield.

"I was in error in the wording of the motion," Stokes told council. "It should read one councilman for Wards 1 through 4 and two for 5th Ward."

Stokes said that in Fifth Ward there will be a two-year term and a four-year term up for election. Councilman Tom Hensil, 2nd Ward, made a motion to alter the call to include the additional two-year term in fifth ward and Sabatino seconded the motion.

Those who file for election in 5th Ward must specify whether they are running for the four-year or two-year term.

The filing fee for mayor will be $50 and the fee for council candidates is $25.

The filing period will open at 9 a.m. on Nov. 5 and will continue until midnight on Nov. 23. Certificates of announcement may be filed at city hall with the city clerk during normal weekday hours.

A filing can be made by mail, but the postmark on the envelope must be no later than midnight on the last day of the filing period. The filing fee must accompany the certificate of announcement.

Seats open for the 2013 election and the officials currently holding them include: Mayor Duke Talbott; First Ward Councilman Charles Kinnison; Hensil, 2nd Ward; Metheny, 3rd Ward; Nanci Bross-Fregonara, 4th Ward; and Sabatino and Jim Bibey, both 5th Ward.

The next Elkins City Council meeting is slated for 7 p.m. on Nov. 1 in council chambers at city hall.

Contact Anthony Gaynor by email at



I am looking for:
News, Blogs & Events Web