Sign In | Create an Account | Welcome, . My Account | Logout | Subscribe | Submit News | Contact Us | Home RSS

Inter-Mountain salutes area athletes

May 13, 2013
By Joey Kittle Sports Editor , The Inter-Mountain

Area high school athletes were recognized at a sports luncheon sponsored by The Inter-Mountain Saturday at Duke's Steakhouse.

The event honored the All-Inter-Mountain basketball teams, along with Athletes of the Week selections.

Ron LaNeve, a former West Virginia basketball player and Elkins resident, served as guest speaker.

Article Photos

The Inter-Mountain photos by Matt Burdette
Area high school athletes are recoginized by The Inter-Mountain at a sports luncheon Saturday at Duke’s Steakhouse. Shown front row, from left, are Brandon Pritt, Tygarts Valley; Cary Robertson, Pocahontas County; Ashley Simmons, Elkins High School; Michaela Lewis-Lambert, Elkins High School; Layla Teter, Harman; Shanda Howell, Tygarts Valley; and back row, Brett Griffith, Tygarts Valley; Logan Phillips, Elkins High School; Colby Gainer, Elkins High School; Quentin Mouser, Philip Barbour; and Tyler Snyder, Tucker County. See additonal photos online at

LaNeve shared stories about his time at WVU and in high school as a player, and what it means to be a good teammate. He paid tribute to the athletes in attendance for the dedication they have shown to their respective sport. LaNeve also spoke about the work ethic of Mountaineer basketball legend Jerry West and how much he cared for the game he loved.

Those honored included Tyler Snyder (Tucker County), Ian Nichols (Tucker County), Brett Griffith (Tygarts Valley), Brandon Pritt (Tygarts Valley), Logan Phillips (Elkins High), Colby Gainer (Elkins High), Dalton Westfall (Buckhannon-Upshur) Seth Cutright (Buckhannon-Upshur), Quentin Mouser (Philip Barbour), Daniel Hevener (Pendleton County), Evan Arrington (Pendleton County), Adam Snyder (Moorefield), Tyler Mongold (East Hardy), John Riley (Lewis County), Cary Robertson (Pocahontas County) and Alex Armentrout (Harman).

Elkins High's John Lawson was recognized as The Inter-Mountain's boys basketball coach of the year.

Female athletes saluted were Shanda Howell (Tygarts Valley), Amber Evans (Tucker County), Stephanie Betler (Tucker County), Savannah Ambrose (Tucker County), Samantha Hall (Elkins High), Michaela Lewis-Lambert (Elkins High), Kayla Carr (Elkins High), Ashley Simmons (Elkins High), Kelsey Hinzman (Buckhannon-Upshur), Maggie Miller (Buckhannon-Upshur), Beth Cook (Moorefield), Katelyn Wills (Moorefield), Lindsey Riley (Philip Barbour), Brooklyn Perkey (Lewis County), Tori Riley (Lewis County), Hillary Ord (Pendleton County), Layla Teter (Harman), Heather Snead (Pocahontas County) and Marilyn Cassell (East Hardy).

Tygarts Valley's Mike DiPasquale was The Inter-Mountain's girls basketball coach of the year.



I am looking for:
News, Blogs & Events Web