B-U student-athletes honored

The Upshur County Board of Education recognized the team members of many county sports at its meeting this week.

All members of high school volleyball team and high school soccer team were recognized Tuesday for a great season. Some team members also received special recognition for making the West Virginia All-State and the All-Big 10 Conference. Individual members of the other sports also achieved special recognition.

Soccer player Emily Godwin made the first team on both the All-Big 10 Conference and West Virginia All-State teams. She also was named Player of the Year, Midfielder of the Year and an Academic All-American.

Other team members who made the All-Big 10 team were Lauren Cvechko, Brooklyn Waddell and Haley Ware on the first team. On the second team were Kelsey Hinzman and Hannah Stankus. Tom Hasbrouck was named Coach of the Year.

Lauren Cvechko also made the first team for West Virginia All-State team. She is a recipient of the senior excellence award. Kelsey Hinzman and Brooklyn Waddell made the all-state second team. Honorable mentions were Hannah Stankus, Taylor Starkey and Haley Ware.

On the boys’ soccer team, Marty Elliot made the first team of the All-Big 10 Conference team and was an honorable mention, along with Trey Short, for the all-state team. Dylan Hall and Chris Orwig made the second team for the All-Big 10 Conference team. Orwig also made the all-state second team.

Named to the All-Big 10 Conference volleyball team were Leah Blend, Sydney Bush and Mackenzie Leigh on the first team, and Lindsey Wagoner on the second team. Leah Blend was named to the all-state second team. Leigh was named as an honorable mention pick to the all-state team.

Others were recognized for individual achievements. Football player Seth Cutright earned second team honors on the All-Big 10 Conference team. Dalton Crislip was a state tournament qualifier in golf. Cross country participants Laura Dean and Gillian Ross were state meet qualifiers.

Superintendent Scott Lampinen also spoke about goals and accomplishments this year. He said the drop-out rate continues to decrease. Through October of this school year, there have been 14 drop-outs. At this same time last year, there had been 29 drop-outs.

“Each and every year we’re lowering that rate. We are making an impact,” Lampinen said, adding that he believed it was with the help of the Destination Graduation forums and grants like the Innovation Zone. Lampinen said that Upshur County Schools have received numerous grants this year.

All county schools were accredited, but Hodgesville Elementary School and Tennerton Elementary School both received an accreditation distinction this year.

“There has been a wealth of staff development this year,” Lampinen said. “I think we’re on track for accomplishing our goals and actually exceeding our goals.”

The next Upshur County Board of Education meeting will take place at 7 p.m. March 12 at Buckhannon Academy Elementary School.