Big 10 Conference names cheer team

The Big 10 Conference cheer team was released on Thursday night.

Each of the league’s 13 schools had at least one representative.

Caitlin and Bradley Gutta were named from Elkins High School, while Haley Burr and Brittany Shapiro of Buckhannon-Upshur, and Elizabeth Poling and Shelbi Wilson from Philip Barbour also were honored.

The rest of the squad includes Sara Logsdon and Hannah McCall (Bridgeport), Syndey Fisher and Amanda Corley (East Fairmont), Amanda Denicourt and Mecca Petersen (Fairmont Senior), Alyssa Duckworth (Grafton), Brittan Hughes and Kiersten Reider (Lewis County), Ali Allen and Twylia Shaw (Liberty), Emily Gerrard and Johnna Akers (Lincoln), Amber Fluharty and Haley Cochran (North Marion), Erica Merrill and Alexis Allen (Preston) and Drew Banko and Jordan Thomason (Robert C. Byrd).

n n n

RAINED?OUT: Thursday’s rain showers around the area washed out Elkins Post 29’s contest at Morgantown and quarterfinal play in the Fuzz Jones Memorial Tournament being held at Robin Harvey Memorial Field.

No makeup date has been scheduled for Post 29’s game, while the Fuzz Jones Memorial Tournament will continue today.

Teams from Elkins, Barbour County, Upshur County and Pendleton County are taking part in the tournament, which got underway last week.

The title game is scheduled for Sunday afternoon.