District 8 tourneys set to start

The Little League All-Star 9-10-year-old District 8 tournament will get underway today in Summersville.

Teams taking part include Clay County, Cowen, Summersville Gold, Braxton County, Craigsville, Elkins and Summersville Blue.

A single game will be held at 7 p.m. today as Clay County faces Cowen.

The winner will face Summersville Blue at 8 p.m. on Saturday.

Other games on tap for Saturday include Summersville Gold vs. Braxton County at 3 p.m. and Elkins vs. Craigsville at 5:30 p.m.

The tournament continues through Wednesday with two teams advancing to the state tournament.

Members of the Elkins squad include Jacob Bender, Bobby Henline, Logan Grey, Brayden Jack, Cassius King, Devan Lamarne, Shane McVey, Jeffrey Parsons, Cory Reed, Isaac Talkington, Hunter Taylor and Stephen White.

Junior Lamarne will manage the team and will be assisted by Keith Fisher and Tim Haddix.

Meanwhile, the 10-11-year-old District 8 tournament will begin in Elkins on June 28, and the 12-year-old District 8 North tournament will be held in Huttonsville, starting on June 29. The South tourney is being held in Summersville.