Elkins, B-U players on first unit

Elkins High’s Michaela Lewis-Lambert and Buckhannon-Upshur’s Brooklyn Waddell have been named to the all-Big 10 Conference softball team released on Monday.

Lewis-Lambert, a pitcher, helped lead the Tigers to their first sectional title in school history this past spring, striking out over 100 batters and winning 10 games. She also was selected to the second team of the Class AAA all-state squad.

Waddell, an infielder, batted .538 with two homers, six triples, 14 doubles and 30 RBI for the Bucs, who advanced to the regional title game. Waddell was a a repeat member on the Class AAA, all-state second team.

Lewis County pitcher Tori Shea Riley also was selected to the first team.

The remainder of the squad includes North Marion’s Danielle Fluharty, Amanda Sigle, Paige Efaw and Chelsi Lathoca, Lincoln’s Makayla McElwayne, Allison Winans and Samantha Elder, Robert C. Byrd’s Katie Powell and Alicia Noble, Bridgeport’s Miki Glen and Tori Rovello, East Fairmont’s Kayla Summers and Tori Postlewait, Liberty’s Presley Lamm, and Grafton’s Erin Wambaugh and Samantha Shingleton.

Rovello and Summers shared player of the year honors, while Riley and Eder were co-pitchers of the year.

The coach of the year was North Marion’s Brad Harker.

Area players of the second team included Elkins’ Madison Collett, B-U’s Megan Williams, Philip Barbour’s Emilee Anglin and Lewis County’s Cheyiannea Watson.

Elkins’ Jordan Hart, B-U’s Claire Linger, Philip Barbour’s Faith Cline and Lori Knight, and Lewis County’s Montana Lodge were honorable-mention selections, while Elkins’ Amy Fincham, Philip Barbour’s Haelli Killen and Lewis County’s Torie Riffle were named to the all-freshman team.