Elkins All-Stars to face HC today

Elkins and Harrison County will battle in the first game of a best-of-three series at 3:30 p.m. today at Frank Loria Field in Nutter Fort.

With only two teams entered in the 13-year-old state tournament, the squads will play again on Sunday and on Monday, if necessary, to determine the champion.

Michael Carr will serve as manager of the team, while John Shaw and Zach Elbon will serve as assistant coaches.

The 12-player squad includes Marcus Reynolds, Hunter Carr, Ben McDonald, Luke Petrice, Russell Shifflett, Nathan Channell, Garrett Swecker, Ean Winans, Justin Fike, Chris Harlan, Gage Elbon and Hunter Lanham.

The winner of the 13-year-old state tournament advances to the Ohio Valley Regional Tournament, which begins July 25 in Robinson, Ill., which is located between St. Louis and Indianapolis, and approximately 240 miles from Chicago.

Elkins defeated Harrison County, 6-3, in last year’s title game.