Champions crowned at Elkins Raceway

KERENS – Elkins Raceway hosted Miller’s Used Cars Championship Night last Friday at the Kerens facility.

Racing action was delayed for an hour at the 3/8-mile oval track after a tractor trailer struck a light pole, cutting off electricity just befire the start of the Darren’s Pizza Shack Mini Wedges.

The Jenkins Ford Super Late Models had the best race of the season as fans were on the edge of their seats. After taking their respective heats, Robbie Scott and Cody Hardesty raged a war for the eventual win. Hardesty held the advantage as Scott could get his nose to the door panel but no further. With three yellows slowing the battle, Scott continued to hound Hardesty lap after lap. Hardesty driving the Runnerup Properties/New England Truss and Joist No. 53 held his line and fended off the veteran to capture his first win at the Kerens facility. Scott had to settle for second. Shane Hitt, Billy Holbert and Bob Gordon would complete the top five. Tim Senic in his Roy’s RV Super Center/Schaeffer’s Racing Oil No. S2, exploded a right rear tire on lap 18. But he was able to change the tire and finish ninth. That would be enough to add his fourth track title

Tracie Sampson jumped to the lead in the Budweiser FASTRAK finale with Michael Lake hot on his tail. The “Root” held the young gun at bay for the first half of the event. On lap 11, Lake drove into turns three and four a little to hot and looped his mount. Sampson in the S&S Rebuilds No. 12 would then drive on for his first win since 2007. Corey Metheny and Kyle Thomas were second and third, respectively. Lake climbed back to fourth. Chad Green passed two cars on the final circuit to cross in fifth. Kris Southern, piloting his WV Fan Zone /Local 400 UFCW No. K2, finished seventh, and would also collect his second track crown, his first coming in 2011.

In the Fast ‘N Friendly Pharmacy Modifieds on the second try at green, Mike Murphy snared the front spot. Randy Bohan began to apply heavy pressure to Murphy in the beginning stages of the feature. Eighth starting Brent Trimble began to work his way to the front with Murphy still in command and Vic Vandergrift now running second. After a restart, Murphy, Vandergrift and Trimble were three wide for the lead. With six laps remaining, Trimble, driving the H&R Block/Stutler Racing Engines No. 1B, grabbed the spot and drove away for his seventh checkerboard of the year. With the win, the “Hillbilly Hustler” put and exclamation point on his second straight track title. Murphy, Vandergrift, Robert Smith and Nick Wilson filled out the top five.

Samantha Rogers was in command at the outset of the Miller’s Used Cars Street Stock feature. But on lap three, Brian Mitchell made a successful bid for the spot. Scott Bittinger got by Rogers and began to apply some heat to Mitchell. With the laps clicking off slowly due to yellows, Mitchell and Bittinger ran door to door with two to go. Bittinger had handling problems and dropped in the order freeing Mitchell for the win. With Pap’s Speed Shop/Liberty Machine on the side of his No. M1, it was Mitchell’s third trip to victory circle. J. P. Tallman, Rogers, James Nelson, and Kevin Dotson followed Mitchell across the line. James Nelson needs to thank Scott Bittinger, because had it not been for the advance to fourth place for Nelson, Tallman would of been named Champion. But in the end, Nelson’s No. 22 with help from Home Rescue/S&S Enterprises, edged Tallman by a mere one point.

The Good Samaritan of Barbour County Mod Lites, were again racing for extra winning moneys as Stewart Sanitation footed the $500 to win bill. Matt Cain was the first driver placed in the first spot, but he had a pair Knepper’s nipping at his heals. The father and son team (Lynn and Alan) chased and caught the Ohio driver, and made it a Knepper one and two show. When the checkers fell, Lynn, in his Evolution Race Car/Knepper ATV No. 21, beat his son, Alan, for his second big check of the season. Jeff Fornash, Mitch Ward and Cain were third through fifth. The Hitt Enterprises/Ward Welding & Fab No. 862 of Mitch Ward would lay claim to the inaugural Mod Lite track champion.

With eight out of 11 feature wins in the Darren’s Pizza Shack Mini Wedges, Logan Hitt, in the Leggett Motorsports/TKS Contracting No. 2, dominated the class for his second straight title. Jackson Jacobs , who had one of the other three wins, chased Hitt but settled for second. Hayden Jacobs, Abby Watson and Braydon Beachler were third through fifth. The remaining two wins were Kaitlyn Frazier, who had mechanical problems and finished fourteenth.

This week will be the 25th annual R.H. Armstrong Memorial with $4,000 going to the winner of the Topless 40 race for the Jenkins Ford Super Late Models. Jared Hawkins captured the first topless edition last year. It was Hawkins’ third consecutive and fourth overall Armstrong win. Other previous winners include, (twin features) Tim Hitt/Charlie Swartz (1989). Denny Chamberlain (1990-91), Frank Wilson (1992), Butch McGill (1993), Hitt (1994), Dave Groves (1995-96), Hitt (1998). Gary Dalton (1999-2000), Chuck Harper (2001) Mike Benedum (2002), Butch McGill (2003). Robbie Blair (2004), Steve Casebolt Jr. (2005), Mike Balzano (2006), Jared Hawkins (2007), Harper (2008). Dalton (2009) and Jared Hawkins (2002-2004).

Also on the card will be the Budweiser FASTRAK Late Models racing roofless for $1,000 to win. It is only the second time the crate Late Models have ran topless at the 3/8 mile oval. Daniel Hill was the winner in 2012.

The Fast ‘N Friendly Pharmacy Modifieds, Miller’s Used Cars Street Stocks, and the Good Samaritan of Barbour County Mod Lites will also race for $1,000 to the winner.

There also will be huge fireworks extravaganza.