Area players earn all-state laurels

CHARLESTON – After Winfield suffered its first loss this season, that’s when Jayne Lawman really stood out.

“There were some things we let go that should have been taken care of as far as

discipline that wasn’t getting done,” said Winfield 10th-year coach Marshall Hoff of Morgantown’s 1-0 victory a few weeks before sectionals. “She took it upon herself and called the problem to the front and got it taken care of.”


Behind Lawman’s leadership the Generals didn’t lose again as they swept to back-to-back Class AAA state championships earlier this month.

Lawman was honored Friday as the high school girls soccer player of the year and the captain of the AAA all-state first team by the West Virginia Sports Writers Association.

Elkins High School’s Isabella Nieves and Charlie George, along with Lewis County’s Brooklyn Perkey and Savannah Chapman earned honorable mention laurels.

Lawman, who has verbally committed to Marshall, scored 23 goals from her forward position to pace Winfield (23-1-1). The junior, who has netted 74 goals in three seasons, will enter her final season next year with a chance to break 100 career goals.

“I think the biggest thing was personally just stepping out,” said Hoff of Lawman’s naturally laidback demeanor. “She’s really taken on quite the role with the team.

“Not at first because the biggest thing with Jayne she carries a real humble spirit. As far as she’s concerned she’s just one of the 11 out there. She never really takes on that kind of boisterous mentality. She brings the most out of the ones around her. She’s a joy to coach. Always smiling and continues to work hard.”

Winfield ended the year on an eight-game unbeaten streak. Lawman tallied four goals in the Generals’ five postseason games, including one in the state championship matchup, a 2-0 win over Washington.

“When the games are the tightest or everything was on the line she was able to perform at her best under those kinds of conditions,” Hoff said. “A lot of athletes have trouble with that at a young age and it came easy to her. That’s a gift.”

In addition to Lawman, Winfield also placed senior Micharae Thompson (midfield) and sophomore Kaylee Cross (defender) on the Class AAA all-state first team.

George Washington also had a trio earn first-team honors in seniors Taylor Ellis (defender), who tallied 11 goals and is continuing her career at Division I Coastal Carolina, and Rachel Mears (defender) and junior Olivia Miller (goalkeeper). GW only allowed 14 goals in 24 games, including five in the last 14 contests as it marched back to the state semifinals.

Hurricane juniors Abby Watson, a forward who turned in a team-high tying 26 tallies, and Taylor Coalter (defender) were also on the first team.

Washington senior Kylie Nelson (goalkeeper) and sophomore Haelly Ramirez (midfield) were first-team picks after leading the Charles Town school to its first state title game appearance. Washington also made its inaugural trips to states since opening in 2008.

Other first teamers included Morgantown seniors Maggie Snively (forward) and Makayla Schmidt (midfield) and Shady Spring’s Lyndsey Thompson (midfield).

The second team was led by Morgantown senior defender Mazie Cheesebrough, who was selected captain.

Winfield senior Braiden Maddox (goalkeeper), freshman Mary Lawman (forward) and sophomore M.E. Zulauf (midfield) were also second-team selections as was Hurricane junior Lauren London (defender).

Maddox moved from the field to goalie for the first time this year. She showed her versatility by moving to the pitch at opportune times this season and scoring a handful of goals. Mary Lawman, Jayne Lawman’s younger sister, made an immediate impact with 22 goals. Zulauf, who chipped in five goals, controlled the midfield for the Generals.

The other second-team goalkeeper was Jefferson’s Shelbie Spencer. The rest of the forwards were Washington freshman Atley Fortney and Parkersburg South senior Kirsten Jones.

Hampshire senior Taylor Harwood, Woodrow Wilson senior Sarah Akers and Musselman sophomore Madison LaPole rounded out the midfielders. Filling out the defenders were Greenbrier East junior Erin Johnson and Wheeling Park senior Cece Jebbia.

W.Va. Sports Writers Association

Class AAA girls all-state teams

First team

GK – Olivia Miller – George Washington

GK – Kylie Nelson – Washington

F – Jayne Lawman – Winfield

F – Maggie Snively – Morgantown

F – Abby Watson – Hurricane

MF – Lyndsey Thompson – Shady Spring

MF – Haelly Ramirez – Washington

MF – Micharae Thompson – Winfield

MF – Makayla Schmidt – Morgantown

D – Taylor Ellis – George Washington

D – Kaylee Cross – Winfield

D – Taylor Coalter – Hurricane

D – Rachel Mears – George Washington

Second team

GK – Braiden Maddox – Winfield

GK – Shelbie Spencer – Jefferson

F – Mary Lawman – Winfield

F – Atley Fortney – Washington

F – Kirsten Jones – Parkersburg South

MF – Taylor Harwood – Hampshire

MF – Sarah Akers – Woodrow Wilson

MF – Madison LaPole – Musselmen

MF – M.E. Zulauf – Winfield

D – Mazie Cheesebrough – Morgantown (Captain)

D – Erin Johnson – Greenbrier East

D – Lauren London – Hurricane

D – Cece Jebbia – Wheeling Park

Player of the year: Jayne Lawman, Forward, Winfield

Honorable mention

Audrey Barber (Hurricane), Ally Reeves (Capital), Elena Pomponio (Capital), Sarah Bodnar (George Washington), Kasey Rhodes (George Washington), Kate Eddy (George Washington), Hannah Ellis (George Washington), Audrey Barber (Hurricane), Tessa Musilli (Nitro), Lauren London (Hurricane), Taylor Coalter (Hurricane), Maddie McDermitt (Riverside), Jordan Pauley (Winfield), Hannah Myers (St. Albans), Autumn Griggs (Nitro), Jessica Shakespeare (Jefferson), Maddy Foster (Hedgesville), Hayleigh Pierce (Washington), Kayde Gustavel (Washington), Stephanie DeLawder (Washington), Molly Beck (Martinsburg), Lauren Solock (Shady Spring), Emily Lane (Shady Spring), Rebekah Cook (Woodrow Wilson), Shae West (Greenbrier East), Brittany Ovalle (Oak Hill), Amanda Barrett (Princeton), Michaela Hinderman (Brooke), Elizabeth Custer (University), Canaan Booton (Spring Valley), Jessica Rogers (Parkersburg), Emily Brezler (Parkersburg South), Savannah Chapman (Lewis County), Brooklyn Perkey (Lewis County), Isabella Nieves (Elkins), Charlie George (Elkins).