EHS, B-UHS soccer coaches honored

The Big 10 All-Conference soccer teams have been released, along with the Coach of the Year and Player of the Year selections, and two area coaches and one player have been honored.

Elkins High’s girls soccer coach Scott Cutright and Buckhannon-Upshur boys coach Mike Donato were each awarded Coach of the Year honors, while B-U’s Marty Elliott received the Player of the Year award.

Cutright said, “It’s a big honor to be recognized, but a lot of the honor also has to go to assistant coach Bedi Swan. This is just a product of a great team effort from everyone.

“It was a big turnaround from last year to this year. Our goal was to win our section and I’m very proud of our girls.”

The Elkins girls’ soccer team finished in third place in the Big 10 standings and had an overall record of 14-3-3. They won the sectional tournament but fell to Washington 1-0 in the regional final.

Donato said, “I was very humbled to be selected.”

“This honor is voted on by all of the coaches in the conference and one of my goals when I started coaching was to earn the respect of my peers.

“But I would not have earned this without the work of my assistants and everybody associated with the program.”

Donato said of Elliott, “Marty had a once-in-a-generation type of season; his execution and effort this year were off the charts. And you know, Marty wasn’t the only player we had up for this award, which lets you know what kind of team we had this year.”

The Buc’s earned first place in the Big 10 and were undefeated in conference play this season. They won the sectional title before losing to Jefferson in the regional final and finished the year with a 20-3-0 record.

Besides Elliott, B-U had two other boys make First Team All-Big 10 in Dylan Hall and goalkeeper Chris Orwig. Trey Short and Josh Tenney were selected to Second Team All-Big 10.

Elkins landed two players on the First Team when Mason Schoonover and Dalton Bobes were selected.

EHS was well represented on the girls’ side as forward Issabella Nieves and goalkeeper Charlie George were given First Team All-Big 10 honors, and Hailea Harper earned a spot on the Second Team.

Other area players selected to the boys’ all conference teams were Luke White of Lewis County and Philip Barbour’s Nick Triplett. Both were chosen on the Second Team.

On the girl’s side, Lewis County placed Brooklyn Perkey and Savannah Chapman on the First Team, while Cassandra Triplett from Philip Barbour and Taylor Starkey from Buckhannon-Upshur were awarded Second team honors.