Area players named to All-Big 10 football squad

FAIRMONT – Elkins’ Issac Riggleman is one of several area players selected to the Big 10 Conference team announced on Tuesday.

Riggleman, a 6-2, 222-pound senior, was named as a linebacker to the first team after leading the Tigers in total tackles with 89. He also has six tackles for loss.

Other area players named to the first team included Buckhannon-Upshur’s Seth Cutright and Trey Short, and Philip Barbour’s Al Johnson.

Cutright was named as a running back, along with Lewis County’s Mark Metzgar and Fairmont Senior’s Noah Harman.

The quarterback is Lincoln’s Jarod Keller, while Johnson, Lincoln’s Dillon O’Dell and East Fairmont’s Scotty Shroyer are the receivers.

The offensive line consists of Lewis County’s Jordan Hall, Bridgeport’s Tyler Mogan and Hunter Renquest, Robert C. Byrd’s Justin Noble and Fairmont Senior’s Andrew Summers.

Short was selected as the kicker.

Joining Riggleman on the defensive side are linemen Vincent Delligatti (Fairmont Senior), Brandon Hartz (Bridgeport), Justin Lucas (RCB) and Quint Markley (North Marion).

Linebackers include Riggleman, Bridgeport’s Mitchell Winkie, RCB’s Elias Grant and Fairmont Senior’s Luke Hrapchek.

The secondary consists of Lewis County’s Skyler Carlton and Brandon Moneypenny, RCB’s Alex Banko and Bridgeport’s Anthony Caldera.

Preston’s Mitchell Thrift in the first-team punter, while utility players include Lincoln’s Ty Seibel and Fairmont Senior’s Ryder Skarzinski.

Area players named to the second team include Elkins’ Caleb Riggleman (OL) and Tyler Pifer (DL), B-U’s Phil Petrulak (LB), Philip Barbour’s Dylan Johnson (DB) and Lewis County’s Tyler Gump (OL), Ross Harvey (LB) and Matt Norman (DL).

Other second-team selections include Fairmont Senior’s Austin Norman (QB) Neil Scherick (WR), DeQuan Hilson (DL) and Malik Boddy, (DB) Preston’s Josiah Nuse (RB), Bub DeWitt (OL), North Marion’s Austin Stanley (RB), Chase Banker (WR), JJ Rogers (DL), Tyler Arnett (LB), Ryan Elliott (DB) and Dylan Leary (P), RCB’s Juwan Jones (RB), Julian Malfregeot (WR) and Colton Bonnett (Utl.), East Fairmont’s Jake Delaney (Utl.), Jarod Harr (OL) and Ronnie Mills (DB), Bridgeport’s Zach Boles (OL), Lincoln’s Emily Knight (PK) and Liberty’s Logan Robey (LB).

Individual awards went to Bridgeport’s Josh Nicewarner (coach of the year) and Anthony Bonamico (player of the year), while Metzgar and Caldera were the offensive and defenisive captains, respectively.