Several area players will compete in Classic

Several area players and one coach will take part in the North-South Volleyball Classic this weekend at Woodrow Wilson High School in Beckley.

Buckhannon-Upshur’s Leah Bland and Lindsey Wagoner will play for the North team in the Class AAA game, while four players from Philip Barbour – Nikki Shriver, Mariah Davis, Morgan Stemler and Hannah Stewart – will compete for the North in the Class AA-A tilt.

The Colts’ Heather Halfin will serve as one of the coaches for the north team, along with Richard and Tracy Summers of Tyler Consolidated.

Pendleton County’s Hillary Ord also will suit up for the North.

Other members of the Class AAA North team include East Fairmont’s Victoria Postlewait, Parkersburg’s Alyxis Reeder, Kaitlin Farrah and Nicole Bradford, Parkersburg South’s Brittany Boso and Sarah McPeek and Preston’s Amy Engels.

Parkersburg’s Carl Harnish and Molly Kiger will serve as the coaches.

Class AAA South members are Cabell Midland’s Mackenzie Weaver, Capital’s Courtney Burkhart, Paige Lucas and Tahjee Houston, George Washington’s Jessica Sayre, Greenbrier East’s Ellen Henthorn and Katie Shaver, Shady Spring’s Rhae Eisenman, South Charleston’s Shea Hoffman and Spring Valley’s Allyson Meadows and Megan Morrison.

Coaches include George Washington’s Missy Smith, Greenbrier East’s Matt Sauvage and Woodrow Wilson’s Shirley Brown and Sharon Pinardo.

The remainder of the Class AA-A North squad includes Bridgeport’s Kyley Pierce, Ravenswood’s Katie Buckbee, Robert C. Byrd’s Denise Adkins and Elesia Saunders and Tyler Consolidated’s Carly Fletcher and Megan Carpenter.

The Class AA-A South team will be coached by Greenbrier West’s Russ Gilkerson and David Ransom, and Fayetteville’s Amy White. Team members include Buffalo’s Katie Higginbotham, Calhoun County’s Bailie Cain, Fayetteville’s Hannah Samples, Greater Beckley Christian’s Heather Lambert, Greenbrier West’s Kristen Harris and Stephanie Lytle, Herbert Hoover’s Hannah King, Independence’s Anne Bass and Brooke Foley, PikeView’s Alexis May, River View’s Raven Kennedy, Sherman’s Baylee Harless and Westside’s Mikayla Abbott.

The games will begin at noon on Sunday.