Area swimmers honored by Big 10

CLARKSBURG – The honors keep coming in for Buckhannon-Upshur swimmer Maggie Miller.

After breaking two state records at the recently-completed state meet, Miller has been named the Big 10 Conference’s Swimmer of the Year, as voted on by the league’s coaches.

Miller, a junior, set new marks in the 100-yard freestyle (52.22) and 100 backstroke (55.01) during the state meet.

“I thought I had a good shot at breaking (the record) in the backstroke but I was really surprised I was able to get the (100) freestyle,” Miller said.

Elkins’ Samantha Hall also earned first-team honors. The junior broke a state mark as well, turning in a time of 24.01 to capture the 50 freestyle.

The remainder of the first team included Elkins’ Lauren Cain, B-U’s Patricia Loughney, Bridgeport’s Becka Crandall,?Tricia Abbott and Isabella Malone, Robert C. Byrd’s Avery Thrush and Emily Kroll and Liberty’s Carley Shingleton.

Elkins’ Kayla Gainer, Skout Barger and Skylee Watson were named to the second team, along with B-U’s Mackenzie Bosley and Shannon Smith, and Philip Barbour’s Jordan Bowers, Abigail Blankenship and Skylar Foster.

The Colts’ Mikayla Haddix and Cheyenne Taylor earned honorable-mention laurels.

Fairmont Senior’s Taylor Campbell was named the league’s Boys Swimmer of the Year.

Other first-team selections included Philip Barbour’s Bryce McGee and Jonathan Franke, B-U’s Steven Wilson, Bridgeport’s Matthew Lowther and Zach Abbott, and Fairmont Senior’s Jeremy Sheppard, Isaac Kinder, Ben Stewart and Brandon Ralston.

Elkins’ Tyler Kenney and Philip Barbour’s Shay Mitchell were named to the second team, while honorable mention status went to Elkins’ Brendan Cain and Brendan Wallace.

Coaches of the year were Bridgeport’s Jan Grisso (girls) and Fairmont Senior’s Dion Bright (boys).