Pocahontas’ Day named to first unit

HUNTINGTON – Huntington St. Joseph might’ve won its sixth-straight Class A title in the 2013-14 season, but the theme of the year could’ve simply been called “Three.”

The 3-point shot is how the Irish made a living in their 23-3 season. That was never more evident than in the Class A Championship when the Irish hit 17 of them to earn an 83-48 win over St. Marys in the title game.

For the season, the Irish hit 277 3-pointers in 26 games – an average of 10.7 per game – while putting up nearly 30 3-point attempts per contest.

Given that “Three” was the theme of the season, it is almost fitting that the Irish had three members of the West Virginia girls basketball Class A First-Team, as voted on by the West Virginia Sports Writers Association.

Huntington St. Joe’s trio of first-teamers were Mychal Johnson, Griffin Dempsey and Rachel Lee – three players who combined for 242 of the team’s 277 3-pointers this year.

Johnson was voted the Class A First-Team captain after a season in which she averaged 20.3 points, 5.9 rebounds, 5.7 assists and 3.7 steals in 26 games.

The Notre Dame signee said seeing the Irish with three first-team selections solidified how strong the team was over the course of their run.

Dempsey finished with 102 3-pointers on the season while averaging 16 points per game. She matched her own individual state tournament game record when she dropped seven 3-pointers and finished with 30 points in the championship win over St. Marys.

Lee, who averaged 15.3 points per game, saved her best play for late in the season, averaging nearly 24 points a game over the final eight games. That included the state championship contest in which she eclipsed the 1,000-point plateau en route to a 21-point championship performance.

St. Marys was represented on the first team by senior Kendra Walker, the Devils’ double-double machine in the post.

Walker and Buffalo senior Chelsey Parkins moved to the first team after being chosen as second-team selections in 2013.

Gilmer County senior Julie Bishop joined Lee as players making the ascent from third team in 2013 to first team in 2014. Bishop helped lead Gilmer County to the Region IV final this season.

Charleston Catholic freshman Vida Imani showed that the future of Class A basketball will still be strong after leading the Irish to the Class A state semifinals.

Pocahontas County sophomore Tristin Day, another promising young player in the state, rounds out the first team.

St. Marys sophomore Ashley Hall was selected as captain of the second team.

Returning second-team selections included Trinity senior Jackie Halapy and Magnolia senior Mallory Chapman.

Wheeling Central junior Regan Blaha and sophomore Lindsey Baker also were named second-team selections, along with Huntington St. Joe sophomore Mychelle Johnson, Tucker County senior Stephanie Betler and Tyler Consoliated senior Sophia Kinnard.

Third-team honorees included Meadow Bridge’s Caitlin White, who was one of three seniors on the third team. Other seniors included Huntington St. Joe’s Asia Petitte and Charleston Catholic’s Anna Whelan.

Juniors on the third team included Fayetteville’s Madie Pritt and Parkersburg Catholic’s Alex Schaffer while Madonna’s Monica Bragg and Notre Dame’s Francesca Steele were honored as sophomores.

Williamstown’s Ashley Morris, who joined Imani as the lone freshmen earning postseason accolades, capped the third team.

Girls Class A all-state teams

First team

Mychal Johnson, Huntington St. Joe, 12 (capt.)

Griffin Dempsey, Huntington St. Joe, 12

Kendra Walker, St. Marys, 12

Rachel Lee, Huntington St. Joe, 12

Chelsey Parkins, Buffalo, 12

Julie Bishop, Gilmer County, 12

Vida Imani, Charleston Catholic, 9

Tristin Day, Pocahontas County, 10

Second team

Ashley Hall, St. Marys, 10 (capt.)

Mychelle Johnson, Huntington St. Joe, 10

Stephanie Betler, Tucker County, 12

Jackie Halapy, Trinity, 12

Regan Blaha, Wheeling Central, 11

Lindsay Baker, Wheeling Central, 10

Sophia Kinnard, Tyler Consolidated, 12

Mallory Chapman, Magnolia, 12

Third team

Caitlin White, Meadow Bridge, 12 (capt.)

Madie Pritt, Fayetteville, 11

Alex Schaffer, Parkersburg Catholic, 11

Anna Whelan, Charleston Catholic, 12

Monica Bragg, Madonna, 10

Ashley Morris, Williamstown, 9

Asia Petitte, Huntington St. Joe, 12

Francesca Steele, Notre Dame, 10

Honorable mention:

Sydney Reed, Tyler Consolidated; Myah Charkawi, Paden City; Melissa Cieslewski, Williamstown; Liz Adams, Wirt County; Katlyn Casino, Clay-Battelle; Hayley Jones, Clay-Battelle; Belle Harold, Paw Paw; Sierra Riffle, Doddridge County; Rachel Rogers, Notre Dame; Tyesha Taylor, Huntington St. Joseph; Madison Syner, Midland Trail; Bobbie McNabb, Pocahontas County; Kristen Harris, Greenbrier West; Kendall Malay, Fayetteville; Avina Sedlock, Fayetteville; Heather Nicewander, Montcalm; Meagan Triplett, Trinity; Megan Myers, Trinity; Ally Redden, Meadow Bridge; Hannah Brown, Richwood; Rebekah Graham, Greater Beckley Christian; Paige Pritt, Tygarts Valley; Adreana Vance, Tug Valley; Hannah Armstrong, Tug Valley; Marilyn Cassell, East Hardy; Hillary Ord, Pendleton County; Kelsi Chapman, Magnolia; Mackenzie Michaels, Wheeling Central; Lindsay Jones, Hundred.