Tucker, Irish advance with sectional wins

ELKINS – Tucker County and Notre Dame advanced to the Class A,?Region II, Section 1 title game with wins Tuesday night at Elkins High School’s Richard P. Simmons Memorial Gymnasium.

The Mountain Lions rolled past Tygarts Valley, 62-34, in the late game, while Notre Dame pulled away from Harman, 82-43.

Tucker and Notre Dame will battle at 7 p.m. Thursday for the sectional crown.

In Tuesday’s first game, Harman’s Casey Elza led all scorers with 20 points but it wasn’t enough as top-seed Notre Dame claimed the win.

The Panthers jumped out to a quick lead, holding a 13-11 advantage at the end of the first quarter.

The Irish stormed back with 23 points in the second period to take a 34-21 lead into the locker room at halftime.

“We played very well in the first half,” Harman coach Fred Davis said. “In the second half, we just got wore out. Their bench was too deep.

“They had fresh guys coming in and we just couldn’t keep up with them. We had a tough time trying to break their press. Their speed was difficult to keep up with.”

Elza tallied a double- double with 12 rebounds and five blocks, to go along with his 20 points. Coy Cummings and Michael Judy finished the game with seven points each. Cummings grabbed nine rebounds and Judy dished out five assists.

The Panthers finished the season with a 10-5 record. Davis said he is proud of the team’s effort and is looking forward to coaching the squad next season.

“We’re only losing one senior,” Davis said. “Michael Alt is the only one graduating. He will be truly missed, because he is a great team leader. Other than that, we’ve got them all coming back and I’m looking forward to it.”

Senior guard Kolby Abruzzino paced the Irish with 16 points.

Forward Cal Cistaro chipped in 11 points.

In the nightcap, the Mountain Lions with 14 points, followed by jumped out to a 23-8 lead after one quarter and never looked back.

Ian Nichols paced Tucker County (16-5) with 14 points, followed by Landon Dillard with 11 and Mitchell Mason with 10.

Derrick Villarico had 10 and Ben Sycafoose nine for the Bulldogs, who finished the season 10-12.

Tucker County and Notre Dame split during the regular season, each winning at home.