D&E baseball coach, players receive honors

CINCINNATI, Ohio – Davis & Elkins coach Ronnie Palmer and three of his players were honored by the G-MAC during Tuesday night’s pre-tournament


Palmer, who is stepping down at season’s end to become the school’s full-time athletic director, was named the league’s Coach of the Year.

The Senators finished the season 24-23 overall and 12-12 in G-MAC play, winning 14 of their last 18 games.

D&E’s Zach Bradfield, Travis Phelps and Lance Vannoy were named the all-conference first team.

Bradfield posted a 2-4 record with an ERA of 3.30 and 54 strikeouts in 60 innings pitched. Phelps led the Senators in batting average (.354), doubles (11) and triples (three). Phelps finished second on the team in home runs (three) and RBIs (31). Vannoy batted .329 with six doubles, two triples and 23 RBI.

Seniors Treavor Dubiel and Matt Moceri were named to to the second team. Dubiel hit .311 with 10 doubles, one triple and 28 RBIs. Moceri hit a league-best eight homers to go along with 10 doubles, one triple and a team-best 41 RBIs.

Senior Brad Banzhoff and freshman Tyler Honeycutt were tabbed honorable mentions. Banzhoff laced nine doubles, 22 RBI and registered a .273 batting average. Honeycutt led D&E in ERA (2.88) and innings pitched (65.2). He was also tied for the team lead with six wins and struck out 32 hitters.

D&E will begin conference tournament play at noon today at Prasco Park.