Hamrick wins Firecracker Topless 30 at Raceway

KERENS – A great hillside crowd witnessed fireworks on the track and in the sky Friday night at Elkins Raceway.

In the Jenkins Ford Firecracker 30 for Topless Jenkins Ford Super Late Models, Chuck Harper and Butch McGill grabbed the prelim honors. At the drop of the green, McGill snared the front spot followed by Harper, Gary Dalton, Dusty Hamrick, and Tim Senic. With McGill showing the way, Harper began to fall in the order. Hamrick and Dalton then raged a war for the second spot. Dalton turned up the wick, but could not get by Hamrick. The laps clicked off quickly as no yellows flew, Hamrick pulled away from Dalton and began to pressure McGill. On lap 22 Hamrick looked to the outside coming out of turn four and motored by McGill. Hamrick driving the Hammer’s Market Tire & Rubber X, showed the crate motor could run with the big ones. McGill crossed in second. Dalton was third. Jared Hawkins and Cody Hardesty were fourth and fifth. Hardesty was named Leggett Refrigeration “Hard Charger.”

The Budweiser FASTRAK Late ran roofless as well for $1,000 to win. After Kyle Thomas and Michael Lake took the heat wins, Thomas shot to the point with Lake, Troy Frazier, Cody Rogers and Tracie Sampson in tow. Cautions on laps five and six, bunched the field back up but, Thomas was still at the front of the line. After a long green stretch, Lake applied heavy pressure to Thomas looking high and low. At each try he was turned back. On lap 14 Lake reached the quarter panel, and then was side by side with Thomas when the yellow came out on lap 16. On the next restart Thomas put a little breathing room between himself and Lake.

The Dodd’s Sporting Goods/Powell & Son Farm 57 beat Lake to the line. Shawn Jett, Cody Rogers, and Garrett Paugh were third through fifth. Immediately after the race, the Lake team filed a protest of an illegal engine against Thomas. The results are pending.

The Fast ‘N Friendly Pharmacy Modifeds were also racing for extra money as $750 was awaiting the winner. The cautions flew on laps three, six, eight, 14 and 16, slowing race leader Dave Defibaugh. Defibaugh would never be seriously challenged for the lead, but with a left rear going down, Brent Trimble, Phill Jeffries and Mike Murphy closed in but could make bids for the lead. Is was the Bob’s Mini Mart/D & B Enterprises’ second trip to victory lane. Trimble, Jeffries, Murphy crossed in that order. Shawn Davis was fifth.

In the Miller’s Used Cars Street Stocks, Anthony Arbogast jumped to the point, but started to come around in turn two. Following close behind, Scott Bittinger got into Arbogast and helped him on around. Bittinger was blacked flagged for his assistance. Then the caution became a plague. It waved eight times, while counting only four laps complete. The time limit expired as the green came out for the final restart, and true to form the yellow/checkered came out as quickly freezing the field. Arbogast in the Miller”s Used Cars/C& JJ’s Used Cars 8A added his third checkerboard. Ryan Watson, Chad Judy, Jamie Keene and Teresa Vaughn were second through fifth.

DJ Miller lead from the starts in the High Lines Oversize Load Escorting Mod Lite feature enroute to his second straight victory. Braedon Dillinger chased Miller but had to settle for second. Miller’s team car and owner Beau Newlon was third. Lynn Knepper was fourth and Matt Ward was fifth.

Paije Bragg picked up her third darren’s Pizza Shack Mini Wedge feature, as she bested Garrett Jones, Braydon Beachler, Kolbe Kimbrew and Caleb Nolan.

This week at Elkins Raceway is Friday Night Thunder presented by West Virginia Pools, along with a candy rush courtesy of Mountain Valley Bank.

Meanwhile, on July 11-12 will be the fourth annual Budweiser Elkins Raceway Legends Memorial. Friday night the fourth annual Jim Hitt Memorial boasting a $5,000 to win check and $300 to start for the Jenkins Ford Super Late Models. Then Saturday another $5K is up for grabs in the fourth annual Richard Skidmore Memorial. There is a $2,000 bonus if a driver can sweep the weekend. The Budweiser FASTRAK Late Models, Fast ‘N Friendly Pharmacy Modifieds, Miller’s Used Cars Street Stocks and the High Lines Oversize Load Escorting Mod Lites will be on the card each night with increased purses both nights. And the Darren’s Pizza Shack Mini Wedges will start both evenings racing off.

For all the latest information go to www.elkinsraceway.net Or “like” us on facebook.


Super Late Models (14): Dusty Hamrick, Butch McGill, Gary Dalton, Jared Hawkins, Cody Hardesty, Tim Senic, Chuck Harper, Steve Wilmoth, Billy Holbert, Bob Gordon, Shane Hitt, Shaun Poling, Jerry Haseleu. DNS: Tracy Cooper.

Heat 1: Harper, Hamrick, Wilmoth, Hawkins, Hitt, Haseleu. DNS; Cooper.

Heat 2: McGill, Dalton, Senic, Gordon, Hardesty, Poling. DNS; Holbert.

FASTRAK (18) [Unofficial]: Kyle Thomas, Michael Lake, Shawn Jett, Cody Rogers, Garrett Paugh, Chad Green, Derek Rogers, Jonathon Sheets, Tracie Sampson, Travis Brown, Greg Hicks, Matt Lopez, Kris Southern, Troy Frazier, Jamie McCloud, Aldon Butcher, Joey Jenkins, Henry Hornsby III.

Heat 1: Thomas, Frazier, Green, Southern, Sheets, McCloud, Jenkins, Lopez, D. Rogers.

Heat 2: Lake, C. Rogers, Sampson, Jett, Paugh, Hornsby, Brown, Hicks, Butcher.

Modifieds (17): Dave Defibaugh, Brent Trimble, Phill Jeffries, Mike Murphy, Shawn Davis, Randy Bohan, Dustin Isner, Ronnie Tincher, Robin Maxson, Josh Revels, Larry Atha, Jacob Hawkins, Matthew Chenoweth, James Nelson, Nick Wilson, Kenny Rowback. DNS: Robert Smith.

Heat 1: Davis, Bohan, Tincher, Maxson, Revels, Wilson. DNS: Smith, Hawkins.

Heat 2: Defibaugh, Murphy, Trimble, Jeffries, Isner, Chenoweth, Atha, Nelson, Rowback.

Street Stocks (19): Anthony Arbogast, Ryan Watson, Chad Judy, Jamie Keene, Teresa Vaughn, Rick Knicley, Samantha Rogers, R D Isner, John Tallman Jr., Brian Mitchell, Brian Youtzy, Brian Blake, Josh Mullenax, Kenny Vest, Scott Bittinger. DNS: Richard Moats, Ricky Vest, Jeff Bennett, Rovello.

Heat 1: Bittinger, Tallman, Moats, R. Vest, K. Vest, Isner, Mitchell, Keene, Vaughn. DNS: Rovello.

Heat 2: Arbogast, Watson, Mullenax, Judy, Rogers, Knicley, Youtzy, Bennett, Blake.

Mod Lites (18): DJ Miller, Braedon Dillinger, Beau Newlon, Lynn Knepper, Matt Ward, Mitch Ward, Randy Kerns, Logan Hitt, Travis Harper, Gabe Philips, Trey Watson, Ritchie McCauley, Troy Gum, Ryan Harris, Jeff Fornash, Ron Harris, A J Spagnuolo. DNS: Zak Kimbew.

Heat 1: Miller, Fornash, Kerns, Kimbrew, Hitt, Gum, R. Harris, Mi. Ward, Philips.

Heat 2: Newlon, Dillinger, Knepper, Ma. Ward, Harper, R. Harris, Watson, McCauley, Spagnuolo.

Mini Wedges (16): Paije Bragg, Garrett Jones, Braydon Beachler, Kolbe Kimbrew, Caleb Nolan, Kohle Howe, Brett Coberly, Ryan Hare, Colby Hutton, Abby Watson, Olivia Ferguson, Alan Bonner, Wayne Bonner, Ryan Gum, Jordan Gum. DNS: Chase Burrows.

Heat 1: Bragg. Heat 2: Jones.