New faces earn wins at Raceway

KERENS – Another great crowd filled the hillside at Elkins Raceway on Friday Night Thunder presented by Hunter’s Haven. There also was autograph and picture night courtesy of Creative Learning Daycare.

In the Jenkins Ford Super Late Models, Butch McGill and Dusty Hamrick took prelim honors. On the second try at green McGill jumped to the point with Hamrick, Gary Dalton, Tim Senic and Chuck Harper quickly filling the top five. With the laps clicking off, eyes turned to eighth starting Cody Hardesty. Hardesty moved into the top five by lap eight. The race stayed green until Tracy Cooper’s machine went up in a fireball on lap 20. Thankfully Cooper was unhurt. McGill, Hamrick, Senic, Hardesty and Harper were the top five. On the restart, Hardesty moved to the top side and methodically moved to the front. On lap 21, he was in third and the following circuit motored to second. McGill was still showing the way as Hardesty peeked under McGill coming out of turn two, and again entering turn three. Both times McGill blocked the advance. As the duo were exiting turn four with the white flag in the air, there was a hole between McGill and the guard rail. The space was quickly shut, as Hardesty had to let off, giving McGill the first win of the season. It was Jenkins Ford/High Lines Oversize Load Escorting No. 1MC first visit of the year. Hardesty had to settle for second. Hamrick, Senic and Harper were the rest of the top five.

In the Budweiser FASTRACK Late Models, Kyle Thomas and Shawn Jett lead the field to green. Thomas gained the advantage and would not lose the spot. On lap 18, Aldon Butcher and Brian Rankin tangled in turn three just in front of the leaders. Thomas dove low and Jett jumped high avoiding the wreckage. Thomas driving the Powell & Son Farm / Dodd’s Sporting Goods No. 57, was able to fend off Jett for his first victory of the season. Michael Lake crossed in third, Corey Metheny was fourth and Kris Southern was fifth.

In his first visit of the season, Shawn Davis started on the pole of the Fast ‘N Friendly Pharmacy Modified finale. Davis would lead flag top flag turning back Dave Defibaugh for the checkerboard. Davis, driving the Automotive Machine/Davis Truck & Backhoe Service bested Mike Murphy who got by Defibaugh on the last lap, Matthew Chenoweth and Dustin Isner.

A wide and wooley beginning in the Miller’s Used Cars Street Stocks had Ricky Vest as the leader at the outset. But Brian Mitchell and Ryan Watson applied heavy pressure dueling three wide for the front spot. Meanwhile a lurking Scott Bittinger saw an opening a blew by for the lead on lap four. Bittinger, piloting the Conner’s Trucking & Repair/Jack’s Recycling “Gold Digger” recorded his third checkered flag of the year. Mitchell, Vest, Watson and John Tallman Jr. completed the top five. A scarey moment happened late in the feature as Teresa Vaughn flipped off the back straight, coming to rest on the ute tires, against the fence. Thankfully Vaughn was alright.

Ryan Harris grabbed the point at the start of the High Lines Oversize Load Escorting Mod Lites, but he pushed in turn four opening the door for D J Miller to slip by. Miller would hold off a late challenge from Braedon Dillinger for the win. The former promoter of the Elkins Speedway was driving the No. 52 of Beau Newlon. Dillinger, Randy Kerns, Harris, and Gabe Philips were second through fifth.

It was an experiment for the Darren’s Pizza Shack Mini Wedges. The Mini Wedges were clocked at slightly over 63 mph. In an attempt to slow the karts down, a restrictor plate was implemented. The result – slower and three-wide racing back through the pack. The feature had four different leaders at the line, and multi changes around the 3/8 mile. When the checkered flew, Paige Bragg added her second win. Abby Watson was second, Garrett Jones third, Brett Coberly was fourth and Jordan Gum was fifth. Paige is sponsored by John Watson Trucking and Taylor Truck & Dozer Service.

This Friday the Fast ‘N Friendly Pharmacy Modifieds will battle for a $750 first prize.

For all the latest information, point standings and more got to Or like us on facebook.


Super Late Models (12): Butch McGill, Cody Hardesty, Dusty Hamrick, Tim Senic, Chuck Harper, Billy Holbert, Gary Dalton, Bob Gordon, Shane Hitt, L C Powers, Tracy Cooper. DNS; Shaun Poling.

Heat 1: McGill, Senic, Hardesty, Hitt, Harper, Gordon.

Heat 2: Hamrick, Dalton, Poling, Powers, Cooper, Holbert.

FASTRAK (16): Kyle Thomas, Shawn Jett, Michael L:ake, Corey Metheny, Kris Southern, Joey Jenkins, Chad Green, Jonathon Sheets, Travis Brown, Troy Frazier, Garrett Paugh, Jerry Brown, Brian Rankin, Aldon Butcher, Dusty Swecker, Jamie McCloud.

Heat 1: Thomas, Metheny, Southern, McCloud, Rankin, Butcher, T.Brown, J. Brown.

Heat 2: Jett, Lake, Jenkins, Green, Sheets, Paugh, Swecker,, Frazier.

Modifieds (13): Shawn Davis, Mike Murphy, Dave Defibaugh, Matthew Chenoweth, Dustin Isner, Nick Wilson, Emerson Payne, Josh Revels, Larry Atha, James nelson, Robin Maxson, Ronnie Tincher, Robert Smith.

Heat 1: Davis, Murphy, Smith, Nelson, Maxson, Wilson, Revels.

Heat 2: Defibaugh, Chenoweth, Payne, Isner, Atha, Tincher.

Street Stocks (14): Scott Bittinger, Brian Mitchell, Ricky Vest, Ryan Watson, John Tallman Jr., Jamie Keene, Anthony Arbogast, Brian Youtzy, Rick Knicley, Jeff Bennett, Kenny Vest, Chad Judy, Teresa Vaughn. DNS; Johnny Singleton.

Heat1: Arbogast, R.Vest, Watson, Keene, Tallman, Vaughn, Judy.

Heat 2: Bittinger, Knicley, Mitchell, Youtzy, K.Vest, Bennett, Singleton.

Mod Lites (9): D J Miller, Braedon Dillinger, Randy Kerns, Ryan Harris, Gabe Philips, Travis Harper, Troy Gum, Logan Hitt, Trey Watson.

Heat 1: Harris, Kerns, Philips, Harper, Watson.

Heat 2: Miller, Dillinger, Gum, Hitt.

Mini Wedges (15): Paige Bragg, Abby Watson, Garrett Jones, Brett Coberly, Jordan Gum, Caleb Nolan, Braydon Beachler, Olivia Ferguson, Ryan Hare, Wayne Bonner, Kohle Howe, Chase Burrows, Colby Hutton, Ryan Gum, Levi Nolan.

Heat 1: Bragg, Coberly, C. Nolan, Hare, J. Gum, Bonner, Hutton.

Heat 2: Watson, R. Gum, Ferguson, Beachler, Jones, L. Nolan, Howe, Burrows.