Cody Hardesty wins Jim Hitt Memorial at Elkins Raceway

KERENS – The 4th annual Jim Hitt Memorial for the Jenkins Ford Super Late Models held a $5,000 check for the winner. Devin Moran took the $180 fast qualifier money courtesy of Robbie Scott, in memory of his dad, Bob. Tim Senic, Mike Benedum, and Mason Zeigler grabbed the heat victories. Moran then scored the dash.

In the Jenkins Ford Super Late Models, as the Jim Hitt Memorial 50 lapper began, Moran, Austin Hubbard, Steve Wilmoth, Cody Hardesty and Billy Holbert filled in the Top 5. Moran set a blistering pace entering the backmarkers by lap nine. A yellow on lap 11 stopped action. Double-file restarts were utilized with Elite Eight Series sanctioning the event. Moran chose the inside line and continued to show the way as Hardesty moved his way to second on lap 14. The caution waved on lap 33, Moran again choose the inside slot. With Moran, Hardesty, Hubbard, Senic, and Zeigler the Top 5, the green came back out. Hardesty pressured Moran but could not make a bid. The final stoppage came on lap 38, as Moran once again chose the inside. When the green light came on, Hardesty used his favorite high line to secure the front spot. Moran then chased, but the “Quiet Riot” held him off to claim his biggest career win. The Oakland Md., driver sports No. 1 Touchdown City/Pleasant Valley Tarps on his No. 53. Hubbard, Doug Drown (from 11th) and Senic completed the Top 5. Moran also pocketed $100 from legendary Elkins driver Jewell Carson for leading lap 37. – Carsons’s car number. The winners trophy was sponsored by Jimmy Henry Motorsports.

The Budweiser FASTRAKs had extra incentive with $1,000 up for grabs. On the third try at green, Danny Thomas was at the front, followed by Kyle Thomas, Michael Lake, Corey Metheny and Shawn Jett. After two quick yellows, Danny Thomas still was holding the front spot, with Kyle Thomas right on his tail. On the restart of lap two, third running Jett dove to the inside exiting turn four and blew past both Thomases. Multiple yellows were unfurled as the time limit would expired with a green-white checkered finish. Jett would claim the $1,000, Kyle Thomas was second, Danny Thomas third, while Kris Southern and Aldon Butcher were fourth and fifth. It was the Aluminum Service Center’s/Jett Racing’s second win of the season. Jett also received an impact wrench valued at $400, courtesy of Jason Wolfe of Snap On Tools.

Dave Defibaugh would lead wire to wire in the Fast ‘N Friendly Pharmacy Modifieds, surviving many caution flags.

The Bob’s Mini Mart/D&B Enterprises No. 33 notched his third trip to victory circle. Phill Jeffries, Shawn Davis, Andre Layfield and Mike Murphy completed the Top 5.

In the Miller’s Used Cars Street Stocks, Scott Bittinger set sail at the outset and was destroying the field.

By lap 12 he built a full straightaway lead and had seven lapped cars as a cushion. But, a caution on lap 16 erased the advantage. Brian Mitchell then turned up the heat as he pulled even with Bittinger with two circuits to go. On the final lap, Bittinger drove into turn four a little too hot, as the tail of the car began to come around, Mitchell and Anthony Arbogast zipped by. Mitchell, driving the Wizard Race Cars/Performance Engineering No. M1, added his second checkerboard. Bittinger dropped to third with John Tallman Jr. and Ryan Watson fourth and fifth. Mitchell also received a 175 piece mechanic tool set courtesy of Auto Zone.

Jeff Fornash would lead flag-to-flag in the High Lines Oversize Load Escorting Mod Lite feature. It would be the Triple H Enterprises/Richard Webb No. 99 driver’s second first place finish of the season. Beau Newlon, Ron Parrish, Mitch Ward and A.J. Spagnuolo followed.

The Darren’s Pizza Shack Mini Wedges set the tone for the evening as they battled three wide for the win. As the checkered flag fell, Steven Frazier claimed the prize ahead of Paije Bragg, Ryan Gum, Braydon Beachler and Garrett Jones.

Friday’s summery;

Super Lates (26): Cody Hardesty, Devin Moran, Austin Hubbard, Doug Drown, Tim Senic, Mason Zeigler, Zach Dohm, Gary dalton, Jared Hawkins, Steve Wilmoth, Butch McGill, Mike Benedum, Tim Hitt, Derek Doll, Dusty Hamrick, Chuck Harper, Shane Hitt, Bryan Casey, Brandon Carter, Bob Gordon, Daniel Hill, Delmas Conley, Billy Holbert, Ricky Williams, Shaun Poling, Tracy Cooper.

Heat 1: Senic, T. Hitt, Dohm, Hawkins, Poling, Hamrick. DNS: Cooper.

Heat 2: Benedum, Drown, Dalton, Harper, Gordon, Williams, Carter.

Heat 3: Zeigler, Doll, McGill, Casey, S. Hitt, Hill.

Dash: Moran, Hubbard, Hardesty, Wilmoth, Holbert, Conley.

99M Devin Moran Dresden, Oh. 15:20

11 Austin Hubbard Bridgeville, De. 15:38

S1 Steve Wilmoth Clarksburg, W.V. 15:41

53 Cody Hardesty Oakland, Md. 15:44

7 Billy Holbert Fairmont, W.V. 15:50

71 Delmas Conley Wheelersburg, Oh. 15:50

S2 Tim Senic Elkins, W.V. 15:56

25B Mike Benedum Salem, W.V. 15:59

5Z Mason Zeigler Chockhill, Pa. 15:59

115 Zach Dohm Crosslanes, W.V. 15:66

20 Doug Drown Wooster, Oh. 15:70

87 Derek Doll Greenwood, W.V. 15:72

99H Tim Hitt Weston, W.V. 15:72

14 Gary Dalton Morgantown, W.V. 15:81

X Dusty Hamrick Clarksburg, W.V. 15:88

1MC Butch McGill West Union, W.V. 15:88

2* Shane Hitt Buckhannon, W.V. 15:94

12 Ricky Williams Beckley, W.V. 15:94

37 Jared Hawkins Colfax, W.V. 15:97

00H Chuck Harper Beverly, W.V. 16:00

8 Daniel Hill Greenwood, W.V. 16:13

74 Shaun Poling Elkins, W.V. 16:16

31 Bob Gordon Keyser, W.V. 16:20

25C Bryan Casey Coshocton, Oh. 16:25

02 Tracy Cooper Elkins, W.V. 16:38

57 Brandon Carter Beckley, W.V. 16:56

FASTRAK (21): Shawn Jett, Kyle Thomas, Danny Thomas, Kris Southern, Aldon Butcher, Tracie Sampson, Greg Hicks, Derek Rogers, Cody Rogers, Tyler Stutler, Garrett Paugh, Troy Frazier, Corey Metheny, Michael Lake, Jonathon Sheets, Brett Benedum, Kenny Rucker, Matt Lopez, Chad Green, Eddie Starkey, Jamie McCloud.

Heat 1: D. Thomas, Lake, D. Rogers, Green, Starley, Sampson, C. Rogers.

Heat 2: K. Thomas, Stutler, Shets, Frazier, McCloud, Butcher, Rucker.

Heat 3: Metheny, Jett, Benedum, Paugh, Southern, Lopez, Hicks.

Modifieds (16): Dave Defibaugh, Phill Jeffries,Shawn davis, Andre Layfield, Mike Murphy, Randy Bohan, Dustin Isner, Larry Atha, Ronnie Tincher, Josh Revels, Emerson Payne, Kenny Rowback, Nick Wilson, James Nelson, Robin Maxson. DNS: Brent Trimble.

Heat 1: Davis, Tincher, Wilson, Atha, Revels, Rowback, Maxson, Bohan

Heat 2: Defibaugh, Jeffries, Murphy, Layfield, Nelson, Isner, Payne. DNS: Trimble.

Street Stocks (18): Brian Mitchell, Anthony Arbogast, Scott Bittinger, John Tallman Jr., Ryan Watson, Josh Mullenax, Rick Knicley, R D Isner, Brian Youtzy, Brian Blake, Teresa Vaughn, Ryan Newman, Jeff Bennett, Kevin Dotson, Chad Todd, Ricky Vest, Jamie Keene. DNS: Richard Moats.