Local players earn All-State honors

WHEELING — The West Virginia Sports Writers Association announced the 2017 Class A All State football team, with many local athletes being recognized.

East Hardy drove deep into the playoff picture once more, and has nabbed three consecutive Class A runner-up spots. Cougars senior Brett Tharp was named captain of the Class A squad as a First Team wide receiver.

Clay Skovron, also an EHHS 12th-grader, notched a First Team nod at the quarterback position after seemingly replacing Corey McDonald in seamless fashion at QB for the successful program in Hardy County.

East Hardy senior offensive lineman Nick Miller also made the grade for First Team.

Pocahontas County senior Mark Jordan was recognized as a First Team linebacker.

Pendleton County junior signal caller Kole Puffenberger was named Second Team QB. Moorefield’s Atikilt Tamiru nabbed Second Team kicker.

Second Team defense nods went to linebacker Phillip Mullen for East Hardy, Pocahontas senior linebacker Shane Peacock, and defensive back Aden Funkhouser from East Hardy.

Tygarts Valley garnered Special Honorable Mentions for Joey Taylor and Willie Walden, while Tucker County made the same list with Cole Rapp and Brett Reall.

Also snagging Special Honorable Mention was Briar Wilfong for Pocahontas, Matthew Jenkins from Moorefield, and Jeff Mills and Dakota Sager from East Hardy. Tim Thorne was recognized for the Pendleton Wildcats.

Tucker had a trio of players make the Honorable Mention list, with Ben Callaway, Luke Polin, and Owen Poling getting nods.

Hunter Booth and Jered Harman represented Pendleton County. Dillon Shinaberry made good as well for Pocahontas County High School.

For Tygarts Valley High School, Jake Tackett and Daniel White made Honorable Mention. Adam Baker for the East Hardy Cougars also inked Honorable Mention in Class A.