Area players earn all-state honors

EHS’ Gainer, B-U’s Bailey on second teams; MHS pitcher Haggerty selected to first unit

The Inter-Mountain file photo Elkins junior Matthew Gainer was named to the Class AA all-state second team last week as a pitcher.

ELKINS — Elkins High School’s Matthew Gainer and Buckhannon-Upshur’s Logan Bailey, along with a pair of Moorefield players, highlight the list of area players honored on last week’s all-state baseball teams announced by the West Virginia Sports Writers Association.

Gainer (pitcher) and Bailey (outfielder), both juniors, were named to the Class AA and Class AAA second teams, respectively.

State champion Moorefield placed senior pitcher Garett Haggerty on the Class A first team and senior outfielder Jake Ours on the second unit.

B-U senior Taylor Whitehair was listed as special honorable mention in Class AAA. Teammate Casey Hamner was awarded honorable-mention laurels.

In Class AA, Elkins’ Read Schumacher and Luke Swecker were special honorable-mention choices and teammate Joseph Schmidlen an honorable-mention selection.

Representing Philip Barbour were David Shriver (special honorable mention) and Nate Baldwin (honorable mention).

Petersburg had five players honored –Trad Harman, Jakob Mauzy and Tanner Champ (special honorable mention), along with Lucas Berg and Peyton Sindledecker (honorable mention).

Tygarts Valley had three players recognized in Class A in Brett Smith and Hunter Lanham (special honorable mention). Logan George was an honorable-mention choice.

Others receiving Class A accolades from the area were Moorefield’s Blake Watts (special honorable mention), Brent Moran (special honorable mention), Hayden Baldwin (special honorable mention), Lane Ours (honorable mention) and Isaac Van Meter (honorable mention), East Hardy’s Brett Tharp (second team) and Clay Skovron (special honorable mention).

Pendleton County players honored included Addison Rexrode (special honorable mention), Timothy Thorne (special honorable mention), Kole Puffenberger (special honorable mention), Grant Evick (honorable mention) and Thomas Davis (honorable mention).