D&E, AB players earn honors

Lady Senators’ Horan named to first team on G-MAC lacrosse squad

Photo courtesy of Alderson Broaddus University ABU senior defender Jesse Worley is a second-team selection on the all-G-MAC lacrosse squad.

INDIANAPOLIS — The Great Midwest Athletic Conference women’s and men’s lacrosse teams were recently released.

Davis & Elkins junior attacker Angelina Horan earned a spot on the first team, while teammates Casey Johnson and Ryann Sumner were second-team selections.

Johnson is a senior defender and Sumner a freshman midfielder.

Regular-season champion Tiffin led with seven selections on the first and second teams. Tourney champion Findlay followed with six total all-conference picks,

The Player of the Year was Tiffin junior midfielder Elle Hamilton.

The Inter-Mountain file photo D&E junior attacker Angelina Horan is a first-team choice on the all-G-MAC women’s lacrosse unit.

Hamilton was second in the conference in points (89) and was the league leader in goals scored with 77. She averaged almost five points per game and over four goals per contest.

On the other side of the field, Findlay junior Brittany Stephens was tabbed as the Defensive Player of the Year, while Walsh’s Hannah McFeeters was the Freshman of the Year and Tiffin’s Erica Brown was billed as the Coach of the Year

For the men, Alderson Broaddus senior defender Jesse Worley earned a spot on the second team.

Worley excelled not only on defense, but also working in the offensive end, especially on the Battlers’ man-up unit.

On the season, Worley picked up 71 ground balls and caused 22 turnovers. He also contributed on offense with six goals and 12 assists.

Worley finished his career as the all-time leader in ground balls at AB with 185.

Seton Hill led all teams in the league with 10 all-conference picks with five on the first team and five on the second team. Mercyhurst had seven all-conference team selections, including five members on the first team.

The Offensive Player of the Year was Mercyhurst sophomore Devin Pipher, last year’s conference freshman of the year award winner. Pipher was a big reason the nationally-ranked Lakers led the G-MAC in goals, assists and points per game.

He netted 35 goals and was the overall league leader in points with 74. He also topped all players in game-winning goals with four and paced the conference in assists with 39.

Seton Hill cleaned up the remainder of the individual awards, which included Goalkeeper of the Year Max Eismann, Defensive Player of the Year Brett Craig, Specialist of the Year Jay Scerbo, Freshman of the Year Christian Krauch and Coach of the Year Brian Novotny.