EHS’ White to play in North-South game

The Inter-Mountain file photo Elliot White will represent Elkins High School in the West Virginia Athletic Directors Association North-South All-Star Classic.

ELKINS — Elliot White will represent Elkins High School one more time before he goes on to play basketball at the next level at Davis & Elkins College.

The all-time leading scorer in EHS boys basketball history has been selected for the West Virginia Athletic Directors Association North-South All-Star Classic.

The game will be played today at the South Charleston Community Center, with a skills competition set for 6 p.m. and game action at 7:30 p.m.

“To be chosen as one of the best senior high school basketball players in the state is an honor,” said Elkins High School basketball coach Amrit Rayfield. “I can’t think of a better person to go down to Charleston and represent our team, our school and the community. I know he will make us proud.”

White averaged 21.1 points, 4.6 rebounds, 3.8 steals and 3.1 assists this past season for the Tigers. He was named to the Class AA, All-State second team the past two seasons. White was a first team All-Big 10 Conference selection during his junior and senior campaigns.

“Elliot solidified this season that he deserved all the recognition he received,” said Rayfield. “I’m sure he’ll go out and give it everything he has against some very good competition.”

Joining White on the North roster will be Fairmont Senior’s Jalen Bridges and Zion Dobbs, Notre Dame’s Gabe Zummo, Tyler Consolidated’s Griffin Phillips and Tyler West, Morgantown’s Cam Selders, Trinity’s Daniel Woods and Joel Robertson, University’s Rodney Bucklew, Williamstown’s Cullen Cutright and Musselman’s Cameron Williams.

Parkersburg Catholic’s Robbie Strcula and Lincoln’s Jordan Toth will serve as the North coaches.

Members of the South squad include Charleston Catholic’s Robbie Williams, Chapmanville’s Devin Collins, George Washington’s Bunky Brown, Greater Beckley Christian’s Jay Moore, Greenbrier West’s Noah Midkiff and Collin O’Dell, Nitro’s Joel Sweat, Richwood’s Jacob Holliday, Sissonville’s Will Hackney, Webster County’s Dorian Groggs and Tyler Gray and Woodrow Wilson’s Bryce Radford.

Webster County’s Michael Gray and Charleston Catholic’s Matt Morrison will coach the South squad.