Trio pick up first wins of the year

Photo courtesy of Tommy Michaels Corey Almond of Virginia captured the Budweiser Fastrak Late Models race last Friday at Elkins Raceway.

KERENS — Another good crowd and full field of cars are becoming the norm for Friday Night Thunder at Elkins Raceway.

After debuting his throwback paint scheme of the Post owned Mark 5 last week, Steve Wilmoth set quick time last Friday in the Jenkins Ford Super Late Models at 14.770 seconds. When the green flag dropped Cody Hardesty jumped to the point. Shane Hitt applied pressure to Hardesty but could not make a serious bid for the lead. Hardesty parked his Swartz Chassis Iron Horse Logging No. 53 in victory lane for the first time this year. Hitt would finish second. Paul Wilmoth Jr., Logan Hitt and D Jay Miller rounded out the top five.

Virginia once again got the checkerboard in the Budweiser Fastrak Late Models. But this time it wasn’t Logan Roberson.

Corey Almond from Appomattox, Virginia, made his first outing a memorable one. After building near full-straight away cushions, cautions would erase the advantage. Almond would be unchallenged as he grabbed the win ahead of Derrick Shaw, Kyle Thomas, Billy Beachler and Trey Watson. Almond credited Troy “the Mad Mexican” Frazier for his help setting up the car.

Jamie McCloud took command early in the UMP Modified finale, but Dave Defibaugh was breathing down his neck. On lap nine, McCloud tried to go outside a lapped car, just as the back marker moved up the track forcing McCloud off the racing surface. Defibaugh took advantage, but a yellow voided the mishap and lead change. McCloud then was able to withstand the pressure from Defibaugh to claim his second checkers of the year. Defibaugh would finish second. Anthony Arbogast, Mike Murphy and Booper Bare were third through fifth.

In the closing laps of the Holbrooks on the Hill Street Stocks race, long leader Jason Ammons’ machine began to so smoke. It lasted just long enough to get the checkered flag and pull onto the scales. It was Ammons’ second win. Jamie Keene, Josh Rovello, Joshua Hymes and Teresa Vaughan filled out the order.

Hands down the best race in the Hot Mods and maybe all classes had Jeff Fornash (substituting for the vacationing Joe Clutter) and Tom Sigler racing door-to- door almost the entire distance. Fornash edged Sigler for the win at the line. Ethan Boram, Daniel Helmick and Dylan Henkins completed the top five.

In the Mini Mod Junior class, Brad Currence kept the streak alive with his sixth straight win. Kristopher Wyatt was second. Declan Carpenter and Kolby Sullivan scratched.

Noah Whited’s five-race win streak ended in the Mini Mod Senior class. Brett Howell beat Blake Runyon, Gunner Binns, Logan Beam and Jakob Barrett to the line.

This week will be the Mid Season Championship with double points in all classes, along with the area’s first fireworks display.

Also, the Renegades of Dirt Modified Touring Series will make their first- ever stop at Elkins Raceway on July 6 as part of the third annual Red Fredrick Memorial. The RoD will pay $2,000 to win, with $150 to start. It will be the third leg of a triple header weekend. The mighty Modifieds will be at Beckley Motor Speedway Thursday for $2,000 to win. Then Friday at Tyler County for the 15th annual Dickson Classic, also worth $2,000.

The RoD were to make their debut in 2012 as part of the Richard Skidmore Memorial weekend, but rain canceled the show and they were unable to reschedule the race.

With some of the area’s best Super Late Model hot shoes battling for the top prize in the Fredrick Memorial and the top open-wheeled pilots squaring off on a triple header weekend, Elkins Raceway will be the place to be on July 6.

For updates and more information, like Elkins Raceway on facebook.

Results, points standings

Jenkins Ford Super Late Models (12): Cody Hardesty, Shane Hitt, Paul Wilmoth Jr., Logan Hitt, D Jay Miller, Billy Holbert, Shaun Poling, Nick Tressler, Michael Baldwin, Steve Wilmoth, Chad Judy. DNS: Glenn Elliot. Heat 1: S. Hitt. Heat 2: L. Hitt

Super Late Model Top five points: Shane Hitt 1,520. Cody Hardesty 1,450. Paul Wilmoth Jr., 1,360. Logan Hitt 1,340. Billy Holbert 1,160

Budweiser Fastrak Late Models (17): Corey Almond, Derrick Shaw, Kyle Thomas, Billy Beachler, Trey Watson, AJ Spagnuolo, Donnie Dotson, Luke Hyre, Troy Frazier, Garrett Jones, Ronnie Martin Jr., Tyler Foster, Devin Brannon, Chandi Currence, Hyden Jacobs, Jason Skipper, Richard Frazier. Heat 1: Beachler. Heat 2: Shaw. Heat 3: Almond.

Fastrak Top five in points; Donnie Dotson 1,290. Troy Frazier 1,190. Derrick Shaw 1,160. Trey Watson 1,110. Kyle Thomas 1,000

UMP Modifieds (14): Jamie McCloud (2), Dave Defibaugh, Anthony Arbogast, Mike Murphy, Booper Bare, Matthew Chenoweth, Phill Jeffries, Larry Yanero, Presley Wilt, Michael Moreland, Kenny Rowback, Derek Dusenberry, Randy Bise, Sam Henderson

Heat 1: Defibaugh. Heat 2: Arbogast. Heat 3: McCloud.

Modified Top five in points; Mike Murphy 1,600. Jamie McCloud 1,540. Anthony Arbogast 1,500. Phill Jeffries 1,330. Dave Defibaugh 1,250

Street Stocks (11): Jason Ammons (2), Jamie Keene, Josh Rovello, Joshua Hymes, Teresa Vaughan, Natalie Rogers, Todd Simmons, James Swenskie, Clayton Moore. DNS: Josh Sigler, Ronald Pyles. Heat 1: Rovello. Heat 2: Keene.

Street Stock Top five in points; Jamie Keene 1,630. Josh Rovello 1,520. James Swenskie 1,460. Jason Ammons 1,380. Joshua Hymes 1,270

Hot Mods (7): Jeff Fornash, Tom Sigler, Ethan Boram, Daniel Helmick, Dylan Henkins, Brandon McGrady. DNS: Dusty Harper. Heat: McGrady

Hot Mod Top five in points: Dusty Harper 1,060, Dylan Henkins 980. Daniel Helmick 910. Brandon McGrady 440. Steven Dotson 300. Danny Thomas 300. Jeff Fornash 300