Ferguson tapped for honor

Fifty-two leaders from across the state have accepted invitations to participate in the 2013 Class of Leadership West Virginia. Candidates were selected from a list of nominations that was submitted in late 2012.

Leadership West Virginia now is in its 22nd year as the premier statewide education and leadership development program in the Mountain State. The eight-month program identifies emerging leaders from a variety of employers throughout West Virginia and enhances their knowledge, not only of the challenges facing the state, but also the state’s unique attributes and diversity.

Recognizing the cultivation of new leadership is of utmost importance to West Virginia’s future prosperity and progress, Leadership West Virginia works to develop and motivate a cross-section of leaders who will use their talents and abilities to inspire others, and to foster a new spirit of energy, enthusiasm and vitality throughout the state. LWV is affiliated with the West Virginia Chamber of Commerce.

“Each year, the class participants are selected from a list of top-quality applicants from around the state,” said Pam Farris, executive director of Leadership West Virginia. “Individuals are selected into the program because they demonstrate leadership skills and experiences in civic activities, public affairs and in their professional careers. We are very pleased with the number of people who applied for this year’s class.”

Farris noted interest in being a class member continues to be a very competitive process.

Throughout this year, class members will travel to eight different communities in West Virginia to receive broad-based education on critical topics and, at the same time, have opportunities to hone their leadership skills. The locations and topics for the training program for the Class of 2012 include:

March 14-15, Charleston – Welcome to Leadership

April 18-19, Martinsburg – FirstEnergy Economic Development/Education Session

May 16-17, Logan – Natural Resource Partners Coal Session

June 20-21, New River Gorge – Chesapeake Energy Tourism Session

July 11-12, Morgantown – Jackson Kelly Critical Issues/The Marcellus Shale Session

Sept. 19-20, Wheeling – Steptoe & Johnson Justice System

Oct. 24-25, White Sulphur Springs – WV Hospital Association Health Care Session

Nov. 21-22, Charleston – BrickStreet Government & Commencement Session

“Leadership West Virginia provides graduates with the skills and the knowledge in making sound, informed decisions. Many of the participants serve as private citizen volunteers, and many seek and serve in public office,” Farris said. “Among the many benefits that come with being a graduate of the program is the network of alumni throughout the state. Leadership West Virginia congratulates the individuals who were selected to this year’s class and wish them the best of luck.”

Hoy Ferguson, of Davis Trust Co. in Elkins, is a local member of the 2013 Class of Leadership West Virginia.

Others from throughout the state include: Ashley Alford, Putnam County of Commerce (Huntington); Lucy Allara, BrickStreet Insurance (Charleston); Michelle Barnes-Russell, Frontier Communications (Martinsburg); Bobby Blakley, Jr., BB&T (Charleston); Anne Blankenship, Babst Calland (Charleston); Matthew Bowles, Lewis Glasser Casey & Rollins PLLC (Charleston); Elizabeth Bridgeman, WV Mutual Insurance Company (Charleston); Joseph Bunn, Jones & Associates (Charleston); Gail Carter, Wells Fargo Insurance Services of WV, Inc. (Charleston); Rachel Coffman, Dollar Energy Fund (Charleston); Richard Colebank, Alpha Associates, Inc. (Morgantown); Staci Criswell, Dinsmore (Charleston); Ryan Culhane, GE Healthcare (Bridgeport); Amy Dobkin, Chesapeake Energy (Wheeling); Karen Eddy, Dominion Hope (Morgantown); Leisha Elliott, Convention & Visitors Bureau of Marion County (Fairmont); Christopher Fazio, CONSOL Energy (Mannington); Sheree Gayman, Charleston Marriott Town Center (Charleston); Amanda Hauf, The Dow Chemical Company (South Charleston); Seth Hayes, Jackson Kelly PLLC (Morgantown); Greg Heffner, FirstEnergy (Clarksburg); Hannah Hern, Constellium Rolled Products (Ravenswood); Miri Hunter, Suttle & Stalnaker PLLC (Charleston); Laura Jordan, West Virginia American Water, (Charleston); Joyce Landers, Highmark Blue Cross Blue Shield WV (Charleston); Dylan Lewis, Bowles Rice LLP (Morgantown); Thorney Lieberman, Thorney Lieberman Photography (Charleston); Anders Lindberg, Steptoe & Johnson, PLLC ( Huntington); D. Cole Malcolm, Ernst & Young (Charleston); Terry Mathias, Capital Financial Solutions LLC (Charleston); Wendy McCuskey, ABC-West Virginia (Charleston); Kimberly Moyers, First United Bank & Trust (Morgantown); Erica O’Briant, Hatfield-McCoy, CVB Logan Chamber Commerce (Logan); Debra Osborne, AEP (Charleston); Joshua Person, Mountaineer Packaging LLC (Dunbar); Courtney Persinger, Jarrett Construction Services (Charleston); Richard Rogers, Hatch Mott MacDonald (Morgantown); Brad Rowe, General Corp. (Charleston); Roberka Smigielski, Enterprise Rent-A-Car (Scott Depot); Candice Stadler, New River Community and Technical College (Beckley); Christina Sullivan, West Virginia Northern Community College (Wheeling); Jamie Summerlin, PuroClean (Morgantown); Megan Tarbett, West Virginia Library Commission (Charleston); Randall Trickett, WesBanco Bank (Morgantown); Julie Warden, West Virginia Junior College (Charleston); Tammy Whitacre, Mary Babb Randolph Cancer Center (Morgantown); Paul White, Commercial Insurance (Charleston); Stephen Whited, Minnie Hamilton Health Care Center Inc. (Grantsville); Timothy Whittaker, City National Bank of West Virginia (Cross Lanes); Tomas Young, ZMM Architects & Engineers (Charleston); and Angela Zambito Hill, West Liberty University (West Liberty).