New members join WVWC society

The West Virginia Wesleyan College Omicron Delta Kappa Circle recently inducted 15 new members at a ceremony held in the West Meditation Chapel.

They are Joel Abraham of Lost Creek, Iris Aloi of Buckhannon, Thomas Bartleman of Paarl South Africa, Renata Comparini of Miami, Fla., Molly Full of Vienna, Zach Howard of Walkersville, Md., Brittany Johnk of Washington, W.Va., Kelsey Rose Jones of Accident, Md., Zach Lonergan of Elkins, Louie Pellegrini of Waynesburg, Pa., Kim Stephens of Mountain Lake Park, Md., Jacki Stow of Ashville, N.Y., Rich Sutphin of Seth, Emma Turner of Salem and Ashley Young of Hurricane.

The newest members were inducted by Circle President Justin Frye; Alisa Lively, advisor and director of Campus Life; Julie Keehner, secretary and vice president for student development; and current members Thomas Smith, director of the School of Health Sciences; Dr. Shirley Fortney, associate professor of education; Kristi Wilkerson, director of alumni relations; and Dr. Mary Toale, professor of communication.

The Omicron Delta Kappa Society Inc. recognizes and encourages superior scholarship, leadership and exemplary character. ODK was founded Dec. 3, 1914, at Washington and Lee University in Lexington, Va., by 15 student and faculty leaders.

Omicron Delta Kappa was the first college honor society of a national scope to give recognition for meritorious leadership and service in extracurricular activities; membership in Omicron Delta Kappa continues to be a mark of highest distinction and honor. The society is now present on the campuses of more than 300 colleges and universities around the country.