Students attend W.Va. Academy of Science meeting

Ten West Virginia Wesleyan College students traveled to the Canaan Valley Institute in Davis on April 6 to participate in the 88th annual meeting of the West Virginia Academy of Science.

Those participating were Tiffany Clements, a junior chemistry major from Ellwood City, Pa.; Caitlin Cobern, a senior chemistry major from Butler, Pa.; Joanna Gaines, a senior chemistry major from Exchange; Jessica Harvey, a senior biology major from Buckhannon; Jacob Knicely, a senior chemistry major from Bridgeport; Sara Morris, a junior secondary education major from Barboursville; Alexandra Roberts, a senior chemistry major from Bradenton, Fla.; Casey Rowland, a junior materials chemistry major from Williamsport, Md.; David Russell, a senior chemistry major from Barboursville; and Davisson Wriston, a senior chemistry major from Lost Creek.

Students presented posters and oral presentations on their research. Clements presented on ligand screening for a Pt alkene oxidation catalyst; Gaines on the adaptation of gas detection tube chemistry to wet analysis of organohalide liquid waste compounds; Harvey on the colorimetric determination of the release of bromide ion or bromine radical during Grignard Reagent Formation; Knicely on the examination of topical application of Ibuprophen; Morris on the preparation and GC-MS analysis of perfume samples for an analytical chemistry laboratory experiment; Russell on the proteomic and genomic analysis of bronchial epithelial cell lines transfected with the cystic fibrosis transmembrane conductance regulator; and Wriston on the effects of varying alcohol concentrations on embryonic mouse neural stem cell differentiation.

Oral presentations were presented by both Harvey and Roberts. Harvey presented on how the cattle excretions affect nitrate loading within nutrient-poor streams in Upshur County, and Roberts presented on the alcohol induced cell cycle changes in G1S phase transition in rat neuronal embryonic dorsal root ganglion stem cells.

All participants are students of Mel Charlton-Smith and Dr. Bruce Anthony.