D&E students inducted into Leadership Honorary

Twelve Davis & Elkins College students were inducted recently into the National Society of Leadership and Success (NSLS), a leadership honor society with more than 200 college chapters. Its mission is to build leaders who make a better world.

Among those inducted during the spring semester ceremony were: Corey Kaechele, sophomore, Bethel, Conn.; Joshua Vile, freshman, Richmond, Va.; Justin Redmon, Moorefield; Katelynn Hanek, freshman, McHenry, Md.; Kaylee Harris, freshman, Drewryville, Va.; Kelcie Mullins, freshman, St. Albans; Lucy Parson, freshman, Parsons; Mia Gresak, freshman, Mount Clare; Rebecca Canterbury, freshman, Logan; Rosie Perkins, freshman, Marlington; Ryan Finnegan, senior, Elkins; and Trisha Higgins, sophomore, Mannington.

Local chapters of the NSLS, such as the one at D&E, offer in-person leadership development and peer-to-peer networking for students around the world.

“The intangibles that students gain from membership helps establish them as leaders among their peers,” said Lisa Reed, NSLS advisor and director of career services and studentemployment at D&E. “NSLS members focus on improved self-esteem, peer leadership skills, sustainable motivation and drive.”

In addition to the student induction ceremony, several members of D&E faculty and staff were recognized during the evening’s presentations. Dr. Bill King, professor of English, and Steve Mattingly, assistant professor of computer science, were both cited for “Excellence in Teaching.”

Staff recognized for “Outstanding Service to Students” were: D&E President Buck Smith and wife, Joni; Alyssa Hannah, AmeriCorps VISTA; Kathleen Doig, assistant director of the Booth Library; and the Information Services Department led by Information Services Director Amy Mattingly, Coordinator of Administrative Computing Craig Merriam and Assistant Director of Information Services Tim Gibson.

National Engaged Leaders awards were presented to Lauren Elmer, senior, Elkins; Jason Mallow, senior, Durbin; John Trevey, sophomore, Richmond, Va.; and Sydney Mucha, junior, Mt. Clare.

D&E executive board NSLS members were also recognized, including: president – Kristin Turschmann, senior, Beaver; vice president – Brandon Arbogast, junior, Mill Creek; secretary – Trisha Higgins; treasurer – Kevin Gratias, junior, Mill Creek; and treasurer-elect – Mia Gresak.

For more information about Davis & Elkins College, visit www.dewv.edu or call 304-637-1243.