Homecoming celebration set for Oct. 18-20

Davis & Elkins College is making the final preparations for its annual Alumni Homecoming Celebration, scheduled for Oct. 18-20. The weekend is filled with more than 40 events including dedications, alumni honors, special public lectures and entertainment and nine class reunions.

Alumni can register for the weekend by calling Wendy Morgan, D&E director of alumni engagement and support at 304-637-1341, online at or by going to the registration center in Halliehurst beginning at 11 a.m. on Oct. 18. Registration ensures alumni have a reservation for every event during the weekend and provides support for Homecoming activities.

The swimming pool, located in the Senator Natatorium of Hermanson Center, will be dedicated at 1 p.m. Oct. 18. Renovations to the pool were completed through generous donations to the Raise the Roof Fund initiated by the college’s Student Assembly. Improvements include a new roof and ventilation system, digital pace clocks for lap swimmers, an electronic scoreboard and renovations to the men’s and women’s locker rooms.

The college’s new synthetic turf soccer/lacrosse field also will be dedicated during the celebration. The 11:30 a.m. ceremony on Oct. 19 at Allen Athletic Fields will be followed by a women’s soccer match. Later that evening, the Finish the Field Campaign Committee will be among alumni honored at a banquet in Benedum Hall. Additional awards will be presented to Distinguished Alumna Virginia “Ginger” Bowman Rich, ’74, and Outstanding Young Alumnus Joel J. Richardson, ’10.

Other highlights of the weekend include a performance by contemporary Christian band Switchfoot and three concurrent lectures – McDonnell Chair in Business and Economics in honor of Dr. Gloria M. Payne with Mark S. Barber ’75; Thomas R. Ross Chair in History and the Humanities with Dr. Bryan Wagoner, D&E assistant professor of religious studies and philosophy; and S. Benton Talbot Chair in the Natural sciences and Nursing with Dr. Michelle Mabry, D&E associate professor of biology and chair of the Biology and Environmental Science Department.