Task force elects new officers

New officers for the Philippi Law Enforcement Task Force were announced last week by Philippi Police Chief J.W. Walters during the annual meeting of the Task Force at the Medallion Restaurant.

Members newly installed include R.L. Barton, task force chief; S.L. Baker, assistant chief; S.K. Spotloe, quartermaster; D.A. Smith, secretary/treasurer; and W.R. Evans, chaplain.

Those whose promotions are determined by points earned for volunteer service include Lieutenant S.K. Spotloe, Corporal E.R. Flowers, Sergeant W.R. Povish, Patrolman First Class W.R. Evans and Patrolman 1st Class D.A. Smith.

The Law Enforcement Task Force was established by the city of Philippi in 1999 to provide a ready force to supplement the work of its regular, sworn law enforcement officers and to provide trained personnel to assist in disasters, civil disorders and other emergencies.

The 10 active Task Force members provided 540 hours of volunteer service and spent 55 hours attending meetings in 2013, working at festivals and parades, the county fair, school functions and monitoring parking meters, for a total of 50 separate activities.

Initially funded by a government grant, the Task Force is currently not part of any agency budget and depends on annual contributions of cash and supplies from local businesses and organizations.

The Task Force meets monthly at Philippi Police Headquarters.

Special guests at the meeting included City Councilwoman Barbara Bryan, Philippi Mayor Jerry Mouser and Philippi Police Chief J.W. Walters, who awarded collar pins to each of the new officers.