Tucker chorus performing free concert series

The Tucker Community Chorus, under the direction of Sandy Shaffer, will present two free concerts this holiday season – one at 3 p.m. Sunday at St. John’s Lutheran Church in Davis and a second at 7 p.m. Monday at First United Methodist Church in Parsons.

The chorus will take audience members on a musical journey of Christmas. “Shepherd’s Joy” tells the Christmas story with a Celtic flair; “Various Themes on Falala” contains bits of famous classical works, and “Christmastime” features a layer of “Angels We Have Heard On High.” The concerts also will include a Christmas sing-a-long.

Vocal and instrumental solos will include “On This Christmas Night” with Penny Ellison and Ellen Shaffer and A Charlie Brown Christmas: “Christmastime Is Here.” with Ilene Evans.

Joyful Noise, a family gospel group based in Tucker County, will be featured in “Glad Tidings of Great Joy.”

Bill Peterson steps out from the Bass section to solo on “Some Children,” and our youngest performers, Lindsey Hull and Neveah Nichols, are featured in “That’s What I Want For Christmas.”

A special treat will be harpist Pam Ruediger playing “What Child Is This?.”

The TCC Winter Ensemble, comprised of Holly Plunkett, Pam Ruediger, Dave Ruediger and DJ Stout, will recall Christmas of olde in merry ol’ England with their rendition of “In The Bleak


Mary A. Mullenax will perform a contemplative arrangement of “O Holy Night.”

Singer/musician, the Rev. Ruth Bullwinkle, will perform a bell instrumental of “Gesu Bambino” with Karen Cuppett on piano.

Organist Robert Shaaf will return to the classics with a special arrangement of Handel’s “Hallelujah Chorus” from the Messiah. Those familiar with this great work will be invited join in the signing. Copies of the sheet music will be provided.

Shaaf, also will accompany the chorus on three choral numbers and perform a solo of “Noel In G” at Sunday’s concert.

Sopranos include Karen Cuppett, Penny Ellison, Ilene Evans, Lindsey Hull, Ellen Shaffer, Sandy Shaffer, Mary A. Mullenax, Nevaeh Nichols and Theresa Young.

Altos include Trinity Bever, Tena Black, Ruth Bullwinkle, Nancy Dotson, Pricilla Flanagan, Heather Nelson, and Holly Plunkett.

The Tenor section includes Don Black and D. J. Stout, while the Bass section is comprised of Bill Hibbard, Bill Peterson and Michael Shaffer.