EHLC elects new commissioner

ELKINS – The Elkins Historic Landmarks Commission (EHLC), which works to identify, certify and preserve important local historic sites, has elected Carol Carter. as its new


“Dr. Carter brings a wealth of experience and knowledge to the commission. She has an immense background in promotion, education, building organizations and obtaining grants key elements to making the Historic Landmarks Commission a vital contributor to preservation,” EHLC President Phyllis Baxter said

Carter is currently the chair of the Business and Entrepreneurship Department at Davis & Elkins College. She holds a doctorate. in human resource education from Louisiana State University. She serves on the board of directors for the Woodlands Community Lenders and Elkins ON TRAC. She is filling the seat vacated by out-going chair, Logan Smith.

The Elkins Historic Landmarks Commission consists of five commissioners: Baxter; Dr. David Turner, vice president/vice chair; Karen Wilmoth, secretary; Lisa Armstrong, treasurer and Carol Carter. New commissioners are nominated by current commissioners or the public and presented to the mayor for appointment.