Omicron Delta Kappa Circle inducts new members

The West Virginia Wesleyan College Omicron Delta Kappa Circle inducted 24 new members at a ceremony held in the West Meditation Chapel.

Inductees include: Lorilyn Brown, of Sykesville, Md.; Courtney Browning, of Crooksville, Ohio; Sarah Campbell, of St. Mary’s; Jeniece Clark, of Andrews Air Force Base, Md.; Toni Dilley, of Dunmore; Kayoko Funadan of Tokyo, Japan; Tyler Gordon of Buckhannon; Taylor Harris of Mannington; Kelsey Hughes, of Damascus, Md.; Rachel Marteney, of Buckhannon; Michelle Oye, of Daniels; Sydney Pettit, of Glenville; Aaron Piot, of Charleroi, Pa.; Angela Pittinger, of Charlestown; Michael Potesta, of Charleston; Justin Seti, of Stonewood; Christopher Skinner, of Buckhannon; Jade Smith, of Hurricane; Shannon Tallman, of Elkins; Jamie Wagner, of Shrewsbury, Pa.; Kyra Waugh, of Nitro; and Courtney Weaver, of Weston. The organization also inducted two employees: Angela Gay Kinkead, dean of the chapel, and Jessica Scott, instructor of interdisciplinary studies.

The newest members were inducted by Circle President Ashley Young ’14, with assistance by Associate Professor of Education Dr. Shirley Fortney, Director of Alumni Relations Kristi Wilkerson ’99, Professor of Communication Dr. Mary Toale ’96, Director of the School of Health Sciences Thomas Smith ’84, Coordinator of Outreach and Leadership Development Katie Loudin ’07, Vice President for Student Development Julie Keehne, and 2012 inductee Zachary Lonergan ’14.

Current Omicron Delta Kappa officers are President Young, Vice President and Acting President Brittany Johnk ’14, and Faculty Secretary and Advisor Smith.

The Omicron Delta Kappa Society, Inc., The National Leadership Honor Society for college students recognizes and encourages superior scholarship, leadership and exemplary character. ODK was founded Dec. 3, 1914 at Washington and Lee University in Lexington, Va. by 15 student and faculty leaders. Omicron Delta Kappa was the first college honor society of a national scope to give recognition for meritorious leadership and service in extracurricular activities; membership in Omicron Delta Kappa continues to be a mark of highest distinction and honor.

The Society is now present on the campuses of over 300 colleges and universities around the country.