Royal court announced for Jackson’s Mill Jubilee

On May 3, the Jane Lew Community Center sponsored the second annual Jackson’s Mill Jubilee King and Queen Pageant in the Lewis County High School Auditorium.

Bill White, president of the Community Center Board, welcomed everyone and introduced Beth White, pageant director; Debbie Garrett, president of Jackson’s Mill Jubilee; and John Wolfe, emcee.

Cindi Primovero, Sylvia McNeish and Debbie Wiman were the judges. Marissa Aman served as vote tabulator.

There were 24 contestants in attendance, representing eight different divisions. Representing the four-five year old female division were Cheyenne Crites and Gabrielle Cvechko. The six-seven year old division female division included Kailee Peters, Madison Burnside, Victoria Berkebile, Braley Wilson, Emily Gum, and Montgomery Stover. Riley Dennis and Joshua Berkebile competed for six- seven-year-old prince. The eight-nine year old female division entrants were: Abigail Cvechko, Ava Belt, Kyanna Depoy, Mallory Dennis, Alexis Murphy, and Shatara Hoover.

The 10-11 year old female contestants were: Breanna Herrick, Kaylee Zielinski, Gracie Marsh, and Sheila James. Two males competed in the 12-13-year-old male division: Eli Virden and Adaryus Gillum. Jazmine Gillum represented the 14-15-year-old female division; the 16-18-year-old female entrant was Chelsea Dennis.

The 2014 Jackson’s Mill Jubilee King and Queen are Adaryus Gillum and Chelsea Dennis. Princesses include: Jazmin Gillum, Breanna Herrick, Ava Belt, Madison Burnside and Gabrielle Cvechko. Eli Virden, Riley Dennis and Josh Berkebile will share the Prince title. Additional awards were presented to Madison Burnside and Eli Virden as Most Photogenic boy and girl. The Fan Favorite award was presented to Gracie Marsh.

LC Blue and Friends, a local bluegrass group, performed at intermission, giving everyone a sample of the music that will be enjoyed during the 40th Jackson’s Mill Jubilee. Bill White thanked the families and many individuals who supported the pageant. He also recognized the following businesses: Seneca Technologies of Clarksburg, Country Hair of Jane Lew, Oliverio’s Florist of Bridgeport, John Ebert/McDonalds in Weston, Wendy’s in Weston, Harrison County Lacrosse Mothers, Ethan Butler Photography, Lewis County High School and the Jackson’s Mill Jubilee. Also recognized for their support were Harrison County Commissioner Mike Romano and Delegate Peggy Donaldson Smith.

White concluded the event by issuing a special invitation to all in attendance to participate in the 2014 Jackson’s Mill Jubilee and celebrate the newly crowned royalty.